Basilica E-News
March 16, 2020
Public Masses Suspended / Remote Parish Operations
During COVID-19 Health Crisis

Bishop Barber, in response to the Mandatory Shelter in Place order from the Alameda County Health Officer http://www.acphd.org/2019-ncov.aspx has suspended all public Masses. Additionally, the office and church will be closed beginning Tuesday March 17th until the order is lifted, which will likely be no earlier than April 7th.

Although there will be no public Mass, Mass will be celebrated privately for all outstanding Mass intentions.

Also, the Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick will be available for anyone who is in serious need of it.

Per the Shelter in Place ordinance, all ministries and groups must refrain from meeting in-person. Instead, please make use of conference calls or video chat technology.

You may contact staff members directly (see list below) or call  (510) 522-0181 or email parish@sjbalameda.org and we will respond to you within one business day. All paid staff are still on the job, in service to bringing the Kingdom of God to fruition but are working remotely.

For further updates, please sign up for our e-news at sjbalameda.org and visit our website www.sjbalameda.org
 
Team Contact information
 
Rev. Mario Rizzo, Parochial Administrator, (510) 995-9421, frmario@sjbalameda.org
Rev. Sunil Orathel, Priest in residence, (510) 917-9558, sunil@sjbalameda.org
Dcn. Peter Lawongkerd, Deacon, (510) 995-9474, deaconpeter@sjbalameda.org
Sr. Asha, Pastoral Care, (510) 995-9406, srasha@sjbalameda.org
Stephen P. Mullin, Pastoral Associate, (510) 328-2905, smullin@sjbalameda.org
Sherley Lim, Secretary / Baptisms, (510) 995-9420, secretary@sjbalameda.org  
Anne Marie Fourre, Faith Formation, (510) 995-9409, afourre@sjbalameda.org
David Howitt, Music Director, (510) 995-9403, dhowitt@sjbalameda.org
Michael Chinnavaso, 7PM music, mchinnavaso@sjbalameda.org            
Susan Gahan, Funerals, (510) 995-9416 sg@sjbalameda.org
Eric Bertelsen, Arts & Environment / Liturgy, (510) 995-9404, ebertelsen@sjbalameda.org
Stan Schonberg, Business and Facilities, (510) 995-9411,  business@sjbalameda.org
Santiago Campos, Custodial, contact through parish@sjbalameda.org
St. Vincent de Paul requests for assistance hotline (510) 995-9471

Event Cancellations

All parish events and liturgies are canceled through April 7, other than virtual meetings conducted through conference calls, video chats, etc.
This includes all public Masses, Lenten Soup, Scripture Study, Stations of the Cross, Adoration, Taize, choir practices, Faith Formation & Youth Ministry classes, Confessions (except by appointment) and Deanery Reconciliation Service, etc.    
RCIA sessions will be held on a virtual basis; contact Anne Marie for details.  
Resources

Online Mass services and liturgical resources can be found on the diocesan website: https://oakdiocese.org/response-to-coronavirus-pandemic
What if you thought of it...

as the Jews consider the Sabbath-
the most sacred of times?
Cease from travel.
Cease from buying and selling.
Give up, just for now, on trying to make the world different than it is.
Sing. Pray. Touch only those to whom you commit your life.
Center down.
And when your body has become still,
reach out with your heart.
Know that we are connected
in ways that are terrifying and beautiful.
(You could hardly deny it now.)
Know that our lives
are in one another's hands.
(Surely, that has come clear.)
Do not reach out your hands.
Reach out your heart.
Reach out your words.
Reach out all the tendrils
of compassion that move, invisibly,
where we cannot touch.
Promise this world your love--
for better or for worse,
in sickness and in health,
so long as we all shall live
Author Unknown

The St. Joseph Basilica E-News is published weekly and as needed. Have information that should be included?  Submit material for consideration to   secretary@sjbalameda.org
STAY CONNECTED: