CS/SB 1128 – Short-Term Rental Preemption

An amendment has been filed to CS/SB 1128 that would remove language in the bill that preempts local licensing and inspections of short term rentals.

This means that if you have ordinances or regulations in place that were adopted since 2011, you can continue doing what your city is doing.

Please contact members of the Senate Rules Committee ASAP and urge them to support the Simmons amendment to CS/SB 1128.

If the Simmons amendment gets adopted to the bill, then FLC will support CS/SB 1128.

Message to Senators: Please retain local problem-solving authority and support the Simmons amendments to CS/SB 1128.
The Senate Rules Committee meets this afternoon from 12 noon – 6 p.m., so please call members of the committee TODAY!
Please contact members of this committee and urge them to support the Simmons Amendment!
Lizbeth Benacquisto, Chair (R-27) 850.487.5027

Audrey Gibson, Vice Chair (D-6)
850.487.5006

Lauren Book (D-32)
850.487.5032 book.lauren@flsenate.gov @Book4Senate

Rob Bradley (R-5)
850.487.5005 bradley.rob@flsenate.gov @Rob_Bradley

Jeff Brandes (R-24)
850.487.5024 brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov @JeffreyBrandes

Oscar Braynon II (D-35)
850.487.5035 braynon.oscar@flsenate.gov @oscarjb2

Gary Farmer, Jr. (D-34)
850.487.5034 farmer.gary@flsenate.gov @garymfarmer

Anitere Flores (R-39)
850.487.5039 flores.anitere@flsenate.gov @anitere_flores

Travis Hutson (R-7)
850.487.5007 Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov @TravisJHutson
Tom Lee (R-20)
850.487.5020
@TomLeeFL

Bill Montford (D-3)
850.487.5003
@BillMontford

Kathleen Passidomo (R-28)
850.487.5028
@Kathleen4SWFL

Jose Javier Rodriguez (D-37)
850.487.5037
@JoseJavierJJR

David Simmons (R-9)
850.487.5009
@DSimmonsFL

Wilton Simpson (R-10)
850.487.5010
@WiltonSimpson

Kelli Stargel (R-22)
850.487.5022
@kellistargel

Perry E. Thurston, Jr. (D-33)
850.487.5033
@PerryThurstonJr
Click here to download a spreadsheet with committee contact information. You can also use the League’s Contact Your Legislators advocacy tool to email your legislators.
Watch Live on The Florida Channel
To watch this committee hearing, please go to https://thefloridachannel.org , click on Live Streams and look for the Senate Rules Committee on Monday at 12:00 p .m.

Keep FLC informed – Let us know what communications you have with your legislators on this issue. Email Allison Payne
Thank you for your advocacy efforts!