Excerpts from the Regular Meeting of the Cypress School District Board of Trustees held on December 8, 2016
Oath of Office
Newly elected Trustee Donna McDougall and incumbent Trustees Candi Kern and Brian Nakamura were administered the oath of office by Superintendent Anne Silavs. On November 8, Trustee McDougall was elected to a two-year term to fill the seat vacated by Steve Blount.  Trustees Kern and Nakamura were unopposed in the November election and therefore appointed to a full four-year term in lieu of election.

President Ad Interim Brian Nakamura Recognized
As Vice President of the Board of Trustees, Mr. Brian Nakamura assumed the duties of President upon the resignation of Steve Blount in March 2016. Superintendent Silavs, on behalf of all district personnel and the Board of Trustees, presented Mr. Nakamura with a plaque in appreciation for the leadership he provided during 2016.
Organizational Meeting
Each year the Board holds an organizational meeting during which, among other administrative tasks, officers are elected and a schedule of regular meetings is developed for the upcoming calendar year.  

Board assignments for 2017 are:

Brian Nakamura, President

Lydia Sondhi, Ph.D., Vice President

Sandra Lee, Clerk

Candi Kern, Member

Donna McDougall, Member

Regular Board Meetings will take place as follows:

Thursday January 19, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday February 16, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday March 8, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday April 13, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday May 11, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday June 8, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday June 15, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday July 27, 2017 10:00 a.m.

Thursday August 10, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday September 13, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday October 12, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday November 9, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Thursday December 14, 2017 7:00 p.m.
Professional Development for Preschool Teachers
The district's new State Preschool Program will utilize the We Can Early Learning Curriculum authored by Vicki Gibson, Ph.D. We Can is a proven, evidenced-based, early learning solution that addresses the key foundational skills in the Common Core State Standards and other state standards for kindergarten. The Board approved contracting with Dr. Gibson to provide two days of professional development for preschool teachers prior to the planned opening of the preschool program in January. 
Student Chromebooks
The Board ratified the purchase of 622 student Chromebooks and associated peripherals from CDW-G at a cost of $198,619.30. The district "piggybacked" on a Magnolia School District bid for best pricing. These devices will be distributed throughout the district for educational use by students, including the annual Smarter Balanced assessments.  
STEM and Arts Modular Classroom Buildings Project Completed
On February 11, 2015, the Board approved the purchase 14 modular buildings from Class Leasing for installation on the Arnold, King, Luther, Morris, and Vessels campuses for STEM and arts classrooms. All work on this project has been completed, at a total cost of $1,684,236, and the Board authorized filing a Notice of Completion with the County of Orange. 
Portable Daycare Classroom Building on Cawthon School Site
Last month, the Board approved the purchase of a portable daycare classroom building to be installed on the Cawthon School site for use by lessee Grace Christian School. At the December Board Meeting, the Board authorized a lease-leaseback agreement with M.P. South, Inc., for site work associated with installation of this classroom building. As with the building itself, all costs will be reimbursed by Grace Christian School. Grace will own the building, but the district will retain ownership of any permanent upgrades made to the school site. The Board also approved an amendment to the License to Use Agreement between the district and Grace Christian School to stipulate terms for the purchase and installation of this portable classroom building.
Landell Building 500 Renovation Project
The Board authorized a lease-leaseback agreement with M.P. South, Inc., for a partial remodel of the 500 classroom building at Landell. The project includes converting four existing classrooms into new STEM and arts classrooms with all new walls, finishes, infrastructure, utilities, and systems.  Additionally, energy efficiency upgrades to interior lighting, exterior soffit lighting, and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems will be made to the remainder of the classrooms and staff workroom in the 500 building.
2016/17 First Interim Financial Report
The district is required to submit a First Interim Financial Report by December 15 of each year. This report reflects actual revenue and expenditure data as of October 31, as well as projected data through June 30. The Board certified the district's 2016/17 First Interim Financial Report and authorized filing a positive certification with the Orange County Department of Education and California Department of Education. A Second Interim Financial Report will be presented to the Board in March 2017.
Cypress Education Foundation Board of Directors
The Cypress Education Foundation Board of Directors is comprised of five members - the Superintendent, two directors appointed annually by the Superintendent, and two directors and an alternate appointed annually by the Board of Trustees. At the December meeting, the Board appointed Christine Barnes and Christie Parker as directors and Ethel Bowman as alternate director for 2017.
By-Trustee Area Elections
At a Special Board Meeting held on November 17, 2016, the Board, by way of resolution, expressed its intent to change from an "at-large" election system, where trustees are elected by the voters of the entire district, to a "by-trustee area" election methodology in which each trustee must reside within a designated trustee area and is elected only by the voters in that trustee area. At the December meeting, the Board took the next step in this process by adopting a resolution establishing the criteria for developing trustee area boundaries and directing the preparation of three draft maps and election plans for the purpose of public discussion in the community. 
Additional information from the Board Meeting is available here
January 19, 2017, at 7:00 p.m.
Candi Kern . Sandra Lee . Donna McDougall . Brian Nakamura . Lydia Sondhi, Ph.D.

Anne Silavs