Tattered Cover Book Store
~ Bringing People & Books Together Since 1971 ~

Book Club Notes
May 2017

Literary Events for May...
These events may be of particular interest to book clubs. Bring your group to meet an author you've read, or discover new books to add to your reading list.

Check out our Event Calendar for more information on upcoming events and follow us on Flowh to stay up-to-date!
Thursday, May 11, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

From the thrilling imagination of bestselling, award-winning Colm Toibin, author of the acclaimed novels Nora Webster and Brooklyn, comes a retelling of the story of Clytemnestra -- spectacularly audacious, violent, vengeful, lustful, and instantly compelling -- and her children. Toibin will read from and sign House of Names ($26.00 Scribner Book Co), which brings a modern sensibility and language to an ancient classic, and gives this extraordinary character new life.
Friday, May 12, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove

Colleen Oakley, author of Before I Go, will read from and sign her evocative, poignant, and heartrending new novel Close Enough to Touch ($24.99 Gallery Books), a romantic novel about a woman allergic to human touch. This exploration of the power and possibilities of the human heart is perfect for fans of the emotional novels of Jojo Moyes and Jodi Picoult.
Saturday, May 13, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Graeme Simsion, the bestselling author of The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect, will read from and sign The Best of Adam Sharp ($26.99 St. Martin's Press), an unforgettable new novel about lost love and second chances. Simsion's wonderful new story is about growing old and feeling young, about happy times and sad memories, about staying together and drifting apart, but most of all, it's about the power of the songs we sing when we fall in love.
Monday, May 15, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Avid readers and book club members are invited to join us for a special evening with Laura McBride, author of We Are Called to Rise. We’ll mix and mingle with tea and refreshments beginning at 6:30 pm, where guests can meet fellow book lovers and pick up book club reading lists. Then at 7:00 pm, Laura will read from and sign her new novel  'Round Midnight ($25.99 Touchstone Books), a story about the interconnected lives of four women in Las Vegas, each of whom experiences a life-changing moment at a classic casino nightclub.

Monday, May 15, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove

For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, comes a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction. Colorado author Margo Catts will read from and sign her debut novel Among the Lesser Gods ($24.99 Arcade Publishing). “In Among the Lesser Gods, Margo Catts offers us a tale as deep and dark and full of hope as the mines of Leadville." ~Tiffany Quay Tyson, author of Three Rivers

Tuesday, May 16, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Jennifer Finney Boylan, the author of fourteen books and a nationally known advocate for civil rights, will read from and sign her newest novel Long Black Veil ($25.00 Crown Publishing Group), an intensely atmospheric thriller that explores the meaning of identity, loyalty, and love, and a must-read for fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott.

Rakesh Satyal will read from and sign his newest novel No One Can Pronounce My Name ($26.00 Picador USA), a humorous and tender multigenerational story about immigrants and outsiders, and those trying to find their place in American society and within their own families. Satyal is the author of the novel Blue Boy, which won the 2010 Lambda Literary Award for Gay Debut Fiction and the 2010 Prose/Poetry Award from the Association of Asian American Studies.


Thursday, May 18, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove

W. Bruce Cameron, the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of A Dog's Purpose, A Dog's Journey, and The Midnight Plan of the Repo Man, will read from and sign his new novel A Dog's Way Home ($24.99 Forge). Lucas is shocked when a Pit Bull puppy jumps out of an abandoned building and into his arms. Though his apartment doesn't allow dogs, Lucas can't resist taking Bella home. A classic story of unwavering loyalty and incredible devotion, A Dog's Way Home is a beautifully told, charming tale that explores the unbreakable bond between us and our pets.


Tuesday, May 23, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Nathan Hill will read from and sign the new paperback edition of his bestselling debut novel, The Nix ($17.00 Vintage), which was named a 2016 Notable Book by The New York Times and The Washington Post . Samuel Andresen-Anderson hasn't seen his mother in decades. Now she's reappeared, having committed an absurd crime that electrifies the nightly news, and inflames a politically divided country. To save her, Samuel  embarks on his own journey, uncovering long-buried secrets about the woman he thought he knew, secrets that stretch across generations and have their origin all the way back in Norway, home of the mysterious Nix.


Wednesday, May 31, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove

Tiffanie DeBartolo will read from and sign her latest novel God-Shaped Hole ($16.99 Sourcebooks Landmark). Wry, vulnerable Beatrice "Trixie" Jordan, replies to a personal ad, "If your intentions are pure I am seeking a friend for the end of the world", and meets Jacob Grace, a charming, effervescent thirty-something writer, a free spirit who is a passionate seeker of life. What follows is a wrenching, memorable, poignant love story that will leave you weeping with laughter.


Staff Suggestions for Book Club Reading
 
Every now and then we encounter a new book that we're so excited about we want to shout it from the rooftops, so we have this special designation to distinguish it from the rest: TC V.I.B. (very impressive book)! That means it's a true stand-out in a season of many excellent and compelling new books. 

vib green
May V.I.B...

"American War imagines a near future in which climate change has altered the very shape of the United States, leading to a second civil war. But this is not an issue book. It's a brilliantly written novel with a host of issues forming the bedrock of a captivating story. The protagonist, Sarat, who we watch grow up throughout this sweeping epic, is shaped by events and circumstances around her in ways that will leave you thinking. The writing is accessible and insightful, and the topics -- war, the environment, the experience of refugees -- are brought home in real and sometimes haunting ways." -- Len Vlahos, owner

"Ron Currie writes delightfully skewed novels that challenge our collective social, cultural, spiritual,  psychological and emotional attitudes. Here he presents us a deeply flawed character: he reads  everything literally and speaks only the truth. In a world where nearly  every word written or spoken is freighted with hype of one variety or another, the protagonist dives  directly to the heart of the meaning, challenges the writer/speaker to clarify or explain and takes no  prisoners. No offense meant, of course. As a result of this unique behavior he is frequently berated,  ostracized and repeatedly beaten senseless.  An amusingly pointed meditation on how little what we say, hear or read is to the point or  even marginally truthful." -- Eric Boss, special to Tattered Cover

"The Golden Legend by Nadeem Aslam  just came out on April 18 and is one of the most human books I've read lately---honest and resonant. Set in today's Pakistan, where Christians are the minority, the story concerns Nargis, whose husband is accidentally killed by an American, and whose Christian neighbor is having an affair with a Muslim cleric's daughter (the widow of an Islamist fanatic). It's about passion and zealotry, hope and oppression, perseverance and intransigence--a wonderful, calmly compelling, and timely book, in every sense." -- Jennifer Martin, Bookseller

"Edgy, glittering, wise, humane. Gaitskill takes on 'the other side' of taste, faith, date rape, child-rearing, and kink with a balance and broad-mindedness I found disorienting and refreshing. 'Lost Cat: A Memoir' was my favorite piece in the bunch; in it, Gaitskill explores the gradations and aberrations of love, both human and animal. Also, who knew that this title comes from Anton Chekhov's Gooseberries?' 'At the door of every contented, happy man somebody should stand with a little hammer, constantly tapping, to remind him that unhappy people exist, that however happy he may be, sooner or later life will show him its claws.' Gaitskill's newest is such a hammer for us all. -- Lainie Formby, Bookseller
Dom Testa is an author, advocate for children's education and the host of Dom in the Morning on Mix 100.3. He loves reading and we love sharing his book reviews with you. Check out  his blog  and happy reading!

This month's selection is Storm Front by Jim Butcher Mention Dom's Book Club when making your purchase in-store to receive 20% off the current selection.

Meteorologist Lisa Hidalgo not only knows the weather, she knows great books, and is an avid reader! Check out her picks each month and read along with Lisa!

This month's selection is The Best of Adam Sharp by Graem Simsion .   Mention the 7News Book Club when making your purchase in-store to receive 20% off the current selection.  Meet the Author!

Thursday, May 25, 6:00 pm, Aspen Grove

Join us for this new monthly tradition of group book talks with the booksellers of Aspen Grove! On the last Thursday of every month, we'll discuss our favorite new books.
TC Book Clubs
Our in-store book clubs are open to everyone, and you are welcome to drop in on one meeting, or join us for every discussion.  Check out the upcoming reading selections here.

Happy Reading!

Community Bulletin Board...
tc logo

~ Bringing People & Books Together Since 1971 ~ 
Colfax Avenue, 303-322-7727
Historic LoDo, 303-436-1070
Aspen Grove, 303-470-7050
Visit our Union Station and airport stores.