It's beginning to look a lot like... SUMMER! The summer newsletter is hitting mailboxes soon, but feel free to take a sneak peak here . Registration begins Friday May 18th at 9:00a.
Whether you are looking for your next great read or want to build up your "to-read" list, check out our new offerings below!
Books We're Buzzing About for May
The Death of Mrs. Westaway
by Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware is back to her roots with this positively haunting offering chockfull of family secrets, fortune tellers, mystery and intrigue, all set in a broody gothic mansion. Spooky story for sure, but a meaningful one complete with multifaceted plot twists and stellar writing. So, so good!

Love and Ruin
by Paula McLain

In a return to the life of the illustrious Ernest Hemmingway, McClain provides a gorgeous and evocative portrayal of his third wife, Martha Gellhorn – prolific novelist, travel writer and journalist. Fans of McClain’s The Paris Wife will adore Love and Ruin. It’s the perfect summer historical fiction offering and is sure to become a book club favorite.

The Outsider
by Stephen King

Look to feel a bit uncomfortable a lot creeped out. After all, that’s what Stephen King is known for! A child is brutally murdered; a beloved public figure is believed to be the killer. This is psychological suspense at its terrifying and eerie best. A riveting page turner that’ll make you want to leave the lights on.


The Perfect Mother
by Aimee Molloy

Molloy combines a Moriarty vibe with the thrills of B. A. Paris in this addictive tale, which seems to scream “I want to be the next Big Little Lies.” A group of new moms out for a “baby free” evening at a local club return home to find that one of their babies has been kidnapped. Lies are revealed, marriages are tested, and lives are risked in this awesome first novel which has been picked up by Kerry Washington for a film that she’ll also star in. Hot!
Warlight
by Michael Ondatje

Fans of The English Patient won’t be disappointed in Ondaatje’s latest big-canvas narrative of life on the outskirts of global conflict. Warlight sets off in England at the close of World War II. A mother and father flea to Singapore, leaving their teenage son and his younger sister in the care of neo-Dickensian rogues. What is the true nature of their caretakers, and what are the secrets their parents are running from? Certain to satisfy fans of McDermott’s The Ninth Hour and Egan’s Manhattan Beach.


The Ensemble
by Aja Gabel

An addictive first novel spinning around four friends as they navigate the cutthroat world of music. The hopeful and offbeat storyline follows the group as they traverse wild success, heartbreak and marriage, triumph and defeat. Through it all, they stick together, choosing each other over and over again. Smart writing that draws you right in and owns you to the last page. For fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld and Jeffrey Eugenides.
Young Adult Series Adults Love Too!
Just in time for summer, don’t miss the latest additions to these mega-hit series! Although deemed Young Adult, these bestselling authors are widely popular with adults as well. Perfect summer reading!
Furyborn
Empirium Series
Book One
by Claire Legrand

Two fiercely independent young women, born centuries apart, hold the power to save their world...or doom it. Get hooked with the first in the series!


Legendary
Caraval Series
Book Two
by Stephanie Garber


A heart to protect. A debt to repay. The game continues…








War Storm
Red Queen Series
Book Four
by Victoria Aveyard


No battle is won alone, though victory comes with a price…








Edgar Award Winners for Mystery Announced!
The Mystery Writers of America have announced the Winners of the 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction and non-fiction. Follow the clues ( click HERE ) to reserve a title from the list of winners and nominees.
May Collection Spotlight – Manga!
Manga (pronounced mon-guh) is a style of Japanese graphic novel. Manga is written for people of all ages and interests and is available in all genres from adventure to romance. Manga is traditionally printed and read from right to left. Oftentimes manga titles are written in series. Most of the Library’s manga titles have more than one volume, and all of the Library’s manga titles are the English translations. Below are several manga titles that would be great entries to the format.
Naruto Volume 1
by Masashi Kishimoto

Naruto is a well-known series in both the United States and Japan. There is also a hit anime TV series based on Naruto . Naruto follows the life of the fictional character Naruto Uzamaki, an amateur ninja. Naruto hopes to eventually become the leader of his village Hokage. This series is rich with Japanese folklore, some funny moments, and entertaining battles. A great starter series for something light.


Fruits Basket
by Natsuki Takaya

Fruits Basket is part romance part fantasy (with a dash of comedy). Tohru Honda meets the peculiar Sohma family. What she learns is that the Sohma family is possessed by the Chinese Zodiac! Each member of the family turns into their specific zodiac animal when they are stressed, weak, or hugged by someone of the opposite gender. Tohru’s adventures are a lot of fun to read!


Uzumaki: Spiral Into Horror
by Junji Ito

Junji Ito is one of the most prolific Japanese horror manga authors. Move over Stephen King, Ito might take the cake for writing the creepiest stories! This gruesome tale of spirals taking over an entire town and leaving its residents going mad is not for the faint of heart. If you like to read horror or watch Japanese horror films like Ring, The Grudge, or Pulse , Junji Ito’s Uzumaki is for you!
Orange: The Complete Collection 1
by Ichigo Takano

Naho begins 11th grade and mysteriously receives a letter from herself ten years in the future. As the letter’s predictions come true, Naho realizes that the letter may be real. Her future self tells Naho that a new transfer student, a boy named Kakeru, will join her class. The letter begs Naho to watch over him, saying that only Naho can save Kakeru from a terrible future. *Gasp!* We won’t spoil the rest – you’ll have to read it to find out what happens! Orange is an Eisner award nominated series and has sold over one million copies in Japan. Sci-fi and romance fans won’t be able to put this one down!
Maximum Ride: Volume 1
by NaRae Lee (Adapter), James Patterson (Author)

Looking for a familiar author? James Patterson’s Maximum Ride series has been adapted into manga! Maximum Ride and her friends may seem like average teenagers, but in reality they are genetically cross-bred with avian DNA – these teens can fly! Follow their adventures as they live on the run from the evil wolf-like beings, the Erasers.