The Dana Point Boaters Association is the champion of recreational boating and the jewel that is
Dana Point Harbor.
Dana Point Boaters Association eNewsletter
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Breaking: First Members Selected to Dana Point Harbor Advisory Board
Yesterday evening the selection committee for the new Dana Point Harbor Advisory Board convened to consider the 30+ candidate applications and select nine members to represent the eight Dana Point Harbor community stakeholder categories. These nine members will comprise the inaugural term of this new harbor oversight group.

[To read more on the background of the DPHAB, read our previous newsletters HERE and HERE .]

The selection committee was impressed by the quantity and quality of the candidates that submitted applications. Choosing nine members to christen the new DPHAB was a daunting challenge, and the selection committee members embraced the task with dutiful care, deliberation and thoughtful discussion.

Following are the members of your new Dana Point Harbor Advisory Board:

Wet Slip Tenants :
James Lenthall - Boater; President, Dana Point Boaters Association
Greg McDowell - Boater
Dry Boat Storage / Trailer Boater / Personal Watercraft User :
William Kindel - Boater; Paddle Boarder
Jim Miller - Owner, Coffee Importers; President, Dana Point Harbor Association
Landside Merchant:
Diana Poulos - Owner, White Pelican
Waterside Merchant:
Donna Kalez - Managing Partner, Dana Wharf Sportfishing
Clubs & Social Organizations:
John Yamasaki - President, Dana Outrigger Canoe Club
Education & Community Service Organizations:
Daniel Pingaro - CEO/President, Ocean Institute
Robert Hartung

The selection committee also endorsed two ex-officio members to represent the County of Orange and City of Dana Point. They are:

Stacy Blackwood - Director, OC Parks
Mark Denny - City Manager, City of Dana Point

Finally, we offer our gratitude to the selection committee members who volunteered their time to thoroughly review and consider the candidate applications. This was not an easy undertaking. There were many highly qualified, enthusiastic and exciting candidates to choose from. This was truly choosing the best among the best. Many thanks to:

Victor Cao - Chief of Staff, 5th District Supervisor Lisa Bartlett
Mark Denny - City Manager, City of Dana Point
Jim Miller - President, Dana Point Harbor Association
James Lenthall - President, Dana Point Boaters Association
Keegan Hicks - Dana Point Harbor Association; Owner, Harbor Grill
Rodger Beard - Dana Point Boaters Association
Enzo Scognamiglio - At-large; DP & LN Chambers of Commerce; Owner, Brio Restaurant

In the coming days, the new Dana Point Harbor Advisory Board members will meet to settle some final organizational details around this group, including ratifying the bylaws, electing board officers, and determining meeting schedules, agendas, and so on. Subsequent DPHAB meetings will be open to the public, with schedules and agendas posted publicly in advance of the meetings. Please stay tuned for more information.

And finally this... Your DPBA leadership team is committed to protecting and advancing the interests of our Dana Point boating community. We are your voice on all matters affecting our harbor. But we only succeed with your support. Your attention, input and moral support most of all. But also financial support. It takes very little to fund what we do, but it's not free. Every dollar counts. If you can spare $10, $25, $50 or $100 to the cause, it goes a long way to keeping us on track, please click here to donate! Thank you.

From: James Lenthall, President | (949) 485-5656 | Email Us! | DPBA Website