November 30, 2020
For the most up to date information from West Texas A&M University and the Texas A&M University System about COVID-19, visit the University's COVID-19 Information Page.
WT Horse Judging Team
Excelled at World Championships
2020 WTAMU Team: 1st APHA World, 1st Reining Championship, 2nd AQHA World Championship,
(L-R): Dr. John Pipkin (Head Coach), Maggie Murphy (Coach), Josh Worten (4th APHA, 12th AQHA), Reilly Dhaliwal (3rd Reining, 8th AQHA), Sierra Stammen, Hannah McLochlin (5th Reining, 7th APHA, 9th AQHA), Lacy Petty (4th Reining, 10th APHA), Elena Chapa (1st APHA, 1st Reining, 3rd AQHA), Mollie Green (6th AQHA, 11th APHA), Taylor Scheulen (12th Reining), Baily Summers (Assistant Coach), Dr. Lance Kieth (Department Head)
"WT’s team was the most successful horse judging team in the world this year,” said coach John Pipkin, Equine Industry Program Director and Regent Professor of Animal Science. 
Not just this year: The team is historically successful, having won 125 champion and reserve champion titles since 1994. They’ve added to that total again with recent Championship and Reserve Championship titles Nov. 7 and 9. The team won the Reining National Championship hosted in cooperation by the National Reining Horse Association (NRHA) and American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) on Nov. 7, and earned Reserve Champion at the American Quarter Horse Association contest Nov. 9. Both competitions were held in Oklahoma City during the AQHA World Championship Show. The team earned a World Championship at the American Paint Horse Association World Championship collegiate contest in Fort Worth on Sept. 23.

“Our team members are extremely talented and, more importantly, they were extremely diligent in their efforts to prepare themselves and support their fellow teammates,” Pipkin said. “They are exceptional in so many ways including overcoming all the challenges associated with COVID-19 restrictions and threats. Their resilience and team work are truly unmatched.”
Third Annual
McNair Scholars
Virtual Research Showcase
The Ronald E. McNair Postbaccalaureate Achievement Program (also known as the McNair Scholars Program) is funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The program is named after Dr. Ronald E. McNair, who was the second African American to fly in space. After his death in the Challenger Space Shuttle Mission, members of Congress provided funding for the McNair Scholars Program.

The McNair Scholars Program has been a part of the WTAMU campus since 1999. It is one of 21 such programs in Texas. Currently, there are 187 programs across the United States and Puerto Rico.

This program is designed to prepare qualified undergraduate students for doctoral studies through involvement in research and other scholarly activities. The goal of the McNair program is to increase graduate degree attainment of students from underrepresented segments of society.

Below are the students in the Paul Engler College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences McNair Scholars class of 2020!
Lyanna DeLeon, SR Biology, McNair Scholar Recipient, mentored by: Dr. Nabarun Ghosh. Research title: "An Investigation on the Household and Allergenic Fungi of Texas Panhandle" 

How has being a McNair Scholar enhanced your academic experience? “McNair has enhanced my academic experience by better preparing me for graduate school research and what to expect in terms of the research process. 
Nicholas Dominguez, JR Physics, McNair Scholar Recipient, mentored by: Dr. Keshav Shrestha. Research title: “Superconducting Materials and BCS Theory”

How has being a McNair Scholar enhanced your academic experience?
“Being a McNair Scholar has shown me the true nature of what it is like to be a researcher and this experience has shown me all the steps required to attend a graduate program.”
McNair Scholar Mentors
Dr. Carolyn Bouma, Associate Professor of Biology and
Dr. Keshav Shrestha, Assistant Professor of Physics both mentored McNair Scholar recipients outside of our College. Well done!
Welcome New Herdsmen!

Joseph Gerlach, SO Animal Science/ Pre-Vet, from Decatur is excited about being a Herdsmen!

What advice would you give to students about getting involved?

"I would tell students to find something they are passionate about, and join that club or organization because you enjoy what they are doing! There are many great opportunities on campus and I would encourage everyone to take advantage of them!"

Kaitlyn Medeiros, SO Animal Science/Pre-Vet, from Austin has wanted to be a Herdsmen ever since she set foot on on campus! She can't wait to introduce the new Buffalo to WTAMU, when the time is right!

What advice would you give to students about getting involved?

"I would tell students to find something they are passionate about!"
The 2020 Herdsmen Team!
Pictured: (Left to Right) Michael Tovar, SR Nursing, Kevin Stromberg, JR Wildlife Biology, Adriana Rademacher, SR Environmental Science, Kaitlyn Medeiros, SO Animal Science/PVET, Dalton Keener, SO Agricultural Business & Economics, Benjamin Bozeman, SO History, Joseph Gerlach, SO Animal Science/PVET, Ryan Tomaselli, JR Animal Science/PVET, Joshua Brown, JR Animal Science/PVET.
 Not pictured are advisers: Dr. Dan Posey and Mrs. Rebekah Bachman
Texas A&M System Regents Approve Naming Facilities at WT after alumnus Charles Graham
The part of the West Texas A&M University campus that includes the Texas A&M Veterinary Education, Research, & Outreach (VERO) Building and the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (TVMDL) now bears the name of TAMU Distinguished Alumnus and one of the world’s top equine veterinarians—Dr. Charles W. “Doc” Graham ’53. The naming of the Charles W. “Doc” Graham ’53 DVM, The Texas A&M University System Center was approved Thursday during the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents’ quarterly meeting.

The center carries Graham’s name at the request of Stan and Gerry Sigman, whose pledge to WT for the creation of a professorship in the Paul Engler College of Agriculture included a request that the new TVMDL, VERO, and the future Texas A&M AgriLife Research facilities be named in honor of Graham. Stan Sigman is a 1970 WT graduate and 2007 WT Distinguished Alumnus; Stan and Gerry are generous WT donors and were the leading donors to the WT Agricultural Sciences Complex. Read More...
“Too many people don’t care what happens so long as it doesn’t happen to them.”
~William Howard Taft