For Commissioners Only

May 2016                                                                                                     Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   View our videos on YouTube   View our profile on LinkedIn   Visit our blog

Greetings CAAHEP Commissioner,

Annual Meeting Wrap Up
It was so great to see so many Commissioners at the 2016 Annual Meeting in Memphis, April 10-11. This meeting was one of the best attended in CAAHEP's history. The evaluations have been tallied and the attendees thought the program this year was "Excellent!" For those who were unable to attend, or if you would just like to reference the material, the presentations are posted on the CAAHEP website.

During the Annual Business Meeting, Gregory Ferenchak and Elizabeth (Betsy) Slagle were re-elected to the CAAHEP Board. Joining them are two new Board members - Amber Donnelly, representing the American Society for Clinical Pathology, and Kathryn Kuntz, representing the Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography. Amber's and Katie's positions on the Board begin July 1, 2016. At the Awards Luncheon, President Thom Skalko honored the Board members whose terms are ending on June 30, thanking Cameron Harris, Claire Chandler, and John Padgett for their years of service and dedication to CAAHEP.

It's not too early to place the 2017 meeting dates on your calendar. Please plan to join us April 23-24, 2017, at the JW Marriott Buckhead in Atlanta, Georgia.

Keeping you Updated
Just to be sure you are up-to-date, CAAHEP now has 23 Committees on Accreditation (CoAs) and 28 professions under the CAAHEP umbrella. Currently, we accredit educational programs in 24 professions, as four of our newest professions continue to work on developing Standards. We expect several new sets of Standards to come forward for approval later on this year. Also, did you know that CAAHEP posts a listing of all accreditation actions taken by the Board following each Board meeting? You can find them on the CAAHEP website.

CAAHEP Blog Latest Post
When you have a chance, check out CAAHEP's latest blog post, "Peer Review Under Fire." The critics like to call it "the fox guarding the henhouse" while we in the accreditation business like to call it "peer review." It is a long-standing cornerstone of our accreditation system that has always been a "given." But it has come under increasing scrutiny in recent years. (Read more...)

The CAAHEP Office Move
The CAAHEP office building was sold on March 3, 2016, and the staff has relocated to our new headquarters at:  
25400 U.S. Highway 19 N., Suite 158, Clearwater, FL 33763. We have notified all of our programs of the move and ask our Commissioners to please be
 sure to change our contact information in your records. Our phone and fax numbers remain the same.

Welcome New Commissioners
Please join us in welcoming the following new CAAHEP Commissioners:
  • Lori Burns, American Ambulance Association
  • Ann Guercio, American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion
  • David Boyne, Alternate, American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion
  • Erin McGill, National Academy of Sports Medicine
Please contact me if there are any changes to your Commissioner contact information or appointment.

As always, if you have any suggestions, comments, or concerns, please do not hesitate to share them with me


Kathleen Megivern, JD
Executive Directo r