For CAAHEP Commissioners Only...

May 2017                                                                                                 Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   View our videos on YouTube   View our profile on LinkedIn   Visit our blog


The 2017 CAAHEP Annual Meeting is another one for the books! It was great to see so many Commissioners in Atlanta and the abundance of first-time attendees. The evaluations received are very positive. If you missed the meeting or are interested in the sessions that were presented, all PowerPoints that are available are posted on the CAAHEP website. We look forward to seeing you next year, April 15-16, 2018, in Louisville, Kentucky. 

Election Results 
During the Annual Meeting, an election for the 2017-2018 Board of Directors took place. The following Commissioners were re-elected to the Board for a second term:

Kate Feinstein, MD , Sponsoring Organization Representative

Douglas York, NREMT-P, PS, (NAEMT),
Committee on Accreditation Representative

Also elected to the Board was Gregory Frazer, PhDwho is representing the Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions. While new in the coming year, Dr. Frazer is not totally new to Board service, as he was previously on the Board of Directors for two terms.

At the March Board of Directors Meeting, the Board selected a new Recent Graduate Commissioner. Melissa McKnight, RDCS, BLS, ACLS, was selected out of a pool of more than 30 recent graduates interested in serving as a CAAHEP Commissioner. Ms. McKnight is a graduate of the CAAHEP-Accredited Adult Cardiac Sonography program at El Centro College, Texas. She is an Adult Cardiac Sonographer at UT Southwestern Medical Center and Methodist Richardson Medical Center in Texas. 

Welcome New Commissioners
Please join us in welcoming the following new Commissioners:
  • Howard Odom, MD, American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • William Gluck, PhD, Consortium of Academic Programs in Clinical Research
  • Francis Neric, MS, MBAAmerican College of Sports Medicine
Our sincere gratitude to the following outgoing Commissioners for their service:
  • David Varlotta, MD, American Society of Anesthesiologists 
  • Carlton Hornung, PhD, Consortium of Academic Programs in Clinical Research
  • Richard Cotton, MA, American College of Sports Medicine
If there have been changes in your Sponsoring Organization's CAAHEP Commissioner, or changes in email addresses, please contact me so that we are sure to have the correct information.

New CAAHEP Website Coming Soon!
The attendees at the Annual Meeting were given a sneak peak at the new CAAHEP website. Everyone will have a chance to experience the new site first-hand, as it goes live May 15! Please visit us at!
If you have any concerns, comments, or suggestions, please do not hesitate to share them with me. I look forward to hearing from you.  


Kathleen Megivern, JD
Executive Directo r