The accolades for our CBC faculty and students went through the roof this month!   Congratulations go to Jon Njardarson for being honored with the UA Distinguished Scholars Award, Bonner Denton who received the ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Analytical Chemistry, and Zhiping Zheng who was admitted as a Fellow of The Royal Society of Chemistry. Not to be outdone, two of our CBC student organizations got big shouts from ASUA as the 2016 Student Organization of the Year (the Biochemistry Club), and as the 2016 New Student Organization Award (PAWS). Enjoy!

Professor and Head
Chemistry & Biochemistry


Volume 2, Number 3
April 2016


Dr. Jon Njardarson


Jon Njardarson Chosen as Distinguished Scholar



Read full story





Dr. M. Bonner Denton


Bonner Denton Receives Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Analytical Chemistry




Read full story




Dr. Zhiping Zheng


Zhiping Zheng Admitted as Fellow of The Royal Society of Chemistry 



Read full story



Biochemistry Club receives 2016 ASUA Student Organization of the Year Award

The Program to Advance Women Scientists (PAWS) in Chemistry and Biochemistry wins 2016 ASUA New Student Organization Award

Reunion registration will be opening soon. Please visit our 125 Years of Excellence in the Chemical Sciences webpage for the latest information.
New Grant Awards
Dennis Lichtenberger - NSF - $529,238
Jon Njardarson - NSF - $450,000
Lucy Ziurys - NSF - $466,000
Industry Associates Program - 2016
Upcoming Events
UA Chemistry Club Magic Show - April 16, 2016, 11 am, OC 111


      Stay In Touch

Like us on Facebook       Follow us on Twitter   View on Instagram    
Alumni News
Angie (Sun) Boyer (PhD in Biochemistry, 1994) - I am an Executive R&D Director with P&G. I am currently living in Singapore where P&G Asia R&D Headquarters is located. My husband, Tim (PhD, MCB, 1998) and I have a college-graduate son and a daughter who is a pre-med student.
Michael Flory (PhD in Chemistry, 2007) I was just promoted to Sr. Research Scientist for CNA, a non-profit research and analysis organization that conducts applied research to help government leaders develop sound policies, make better-informed decisions, and manage programs more effectively.
Shiana Ferng (BS in Biochemistry, 2009) After earning my MBA/MPH in Dec 2015 from the UA, I moved to the beautiful Reno/Tahoe area to work for Microsoft as a Global Operations Program Manager at their Americas Operations Headquarters.
Aleksandra Obradov (BS in BMB & MCB, 2011) I am a pediatric resident at the Phoenix Children's Hospital, where I greatly enjoy both the challenge and the reward of working with children and their families. I recently married a wonderful man who is completing his residency in internal medicine.
Ersilia Anghel (BIOCBS, Art History, 2012) I am a 4th year UA Med student. As part of my research fellowship on Diabetic Limb Salvage at Georgetown University Hospital, I participated in the American College of Surgeon Leadership and Advocacy Summit, advocating for increasing the surgical workforce in underserved areas.
What's Up?

Current students Katherine Burrell, Christopher Chan, Melissa Harnois and Minhkhoi Nguyen were inducted into the ASBMB Honor Society at the 2016 Experimental Biology Meeting earlier this month.

Prior Issues:

Vol 2. Issue 2, March 2016

Vol 2, Issue 1, Jan/Feb 2016

Vol 1, Issue 9, December 2015

Regents Professor Emeritus Victor J. Hruby will share his recollections about the Department at the reunion dinner on Friday, Nov. 4, 2016. For more info, visit our reunion website.