Happy Holidays from the Faculty, Staff, and Students in the CBC Department!

Professor Dennis Lichtenberger has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Two CBC faculty have won awards for outstanding achievements in education; Dr. Amy Graham was awarded the UA Fall 2015 Undergraduate STEM Education Teaching Excellence Award, and Dr. Vicente Talanquer was chosen as the 2015 Arizona Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. Finally, Dr. John Jewett and Dr. Yeonsun Lee were honored for outstanding achievements in research. Enjoy!

Professor and Head
Chemistry & Biochemistry


Volume 1, Number 9
December 2015


Prof. Dennis Lichtenberger

Photo: Taka Sakamoto



Dennis Lichtenberger named AAAS Fellow


See full story





Dr. Amy Graham


Amy Graham awarded the UA Fall 2015 Undergraduate STEM Education Teaching Excellence Award


See full story





Prof. Vicente Talanquer


Vicente Talanquer selected as a 2015 Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education 


See full story





Prof. John Jewett


Tech Launch Arizona asset demo program readies John Jewett's invention for commercialization


See full story





Dr. Yeonsun Lee

Yeonsun Lee selected as one of four College of Science Copernicus Awardees for 2015. 


See full story





Please help us plan our upcoming reunion celebrating 125 Years of Excellence in the Chemical Sciences by completing this survey.




New Grant Awards
John Jewett - Tech Launch Arizona - $38K
Jeffrey Pyun - Tech Launch Arizona - $48K
Jeffrey Pyun - TIPD, LLC - $45K
Industry Associates Program - 2015
Upcoming Events
University Holiday Closure - Dec. 24, 2015-Jan 3, 2016


      Stay In Touch

Like us on Facebook       Follow us on Twitter   View on Instagram    
Alumni News

Raymond Moellering (B.S. in Chemistry and Biochemistry, 2005) In the Spring of 2015, I started as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry and a Core Fellow in the Institute for Genomics and Systems Biology at the University of Chicago. My research program aims to develop new chemical proteomic technologies to study biological signaling.

Amy Alabaster (BS/MS in Biochemistry, 2010) In May, 2015 I graduated with an MPH in Epidemiology/Biostatistics from UC Berkeley. I now work in epidemiology and health systems research as a biostatistical consultant at the Kaiser Permanente Division of Research.

Mounir Koussa (B.S. in Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics; B.S. in Chemistry, 2011) I received my Ph.D. in Neurobiology from Harvard and am now the CEO and Co-Founder of Lumio Health Inc. I am very much looking forward to returning to campus as the Keynote Speaker at the 27th annual UBRP conference in January 2016.

Sukeshi Mehta Roberts (B.S. in Chemistry, 2011) I am the Chemical Safety Coordinator for the University of Arizona's Laboratory Chemical Safety Program. I've been able to reinvent the chemical safety program from the ground up, providing researchers with a program that assists with maintaining safety and compliance, as well as providing useful tools for the laboratory.

Jorge Alvarez (B.A. in Biochemistry, 2014) I am a Medical Scribe in two emergency departments, and I am applying to medical school.

CBC Alumni - Have you moved recently? Please help us keep our records current by updating your contact information (look for "click here to update your alumni profile").

Prior Issues:

Vol 1, Issue 8, Oct/Nov 2015

Vol 1, Issue 7, September 2015

Vol 1, Issue 6, August 2015

Vol 1, Issue 5, June/July 2015

Vol 1, Issue 4, May 2015

Vol 1, Issue 3, April 2015