CONNECT
with what's happening around
Metropolitan Community Church
Please note: Some servers will truncate or clip long emails. Be sure to click on "View entire message" at the bottom to see all the events and information.
HIGHLIGHTED EVENTS
The Queer History and Evolution of
Metropolitan Community Churches:
A journey from being the “Gay Church” of the late 60s and 70s, to the “Church with AIDS” in the 80s and 90s, to the “Queer Church” of today and tomorrow
#QYFDAY - June 30th
time of this presentation tbd
As part of Queer Youth of Faith Day, join in for a panel conversation with MCC Founder, Rev. Elder Troy Perry; MCC minister and AIDS activist, Rev. Elder Jim Mitulski; and current minister and leader, Rev. Tijuana Gray. Moderated by Rev. Dr. Kharma Amos.
Look for this event on the schedule (to be released soon) on host Beloved Arise https://www.belovedarise.org/qyfday Watch also for more news about this on MCC's social media. Learn more about Queer Youth of Faith Day below and check out the music.

QUEER YOUTH OF FAITH DAY June 30, 2021
#QYFDAY is the first multi-faith celebration of queer youth. This year’s #QYFDay will feature various programming throughout the day including podcasts, panels, and musical performances. The event is primarily sponsored and hosted by Beloved Arise, a nonprofit organization dedicated to celebrating and empowering LGBTQ+ youth of faith. MCC is a sponsor.

As part of #QYFDay, Beloved Arise released their multi-faith album Serenade. This is the first-ever album dedicated to queer youth of faith, and these songs serve as anthems for #QYFDay. Check it out! https://www.belovedarise.org/serenade

More than one in three LGBTQ+ youth identify with a religion. But sadly, these young believers are often pressured to choose between their faith and the freedom to live and love authentically. As part of PRIDE month, Beloved Arise dedicates June 30 to celebrate and support LGBTQ+ youth from all faith traditions — and we uphold the human right to believe, to belong, and to be loved.
We rise up and join our voices to say:
We see you. We celebrate you. We take pride in you.
TUESDAY, June 15th
CONNECT over TEA Time
with the Community Development Team - 5pm EDT / 9pm GMT
Meeting ID: 248 584 328
Password: 469464
“What Does the Bible Really Have to Say About Homosexuality, LGBTQ people, and Why Have We Been Told It Is So Negative?”
6pm EDT / 10pm GMT
SunCoast MCC (Florida, USA) and Rev. Elder Dr. Nancy Wilson
Come and share some reflections on this mystery.
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 937 4039 8560 Passcode: 505376
Friday, June 18th / Saturday, June 19th
Asian/Pacific Islander Kinship Gathering
The Diversity, Inclusion and Laity Development Coordinators invite you to the API Kinship Gathering designed to facilitate connection, foster visibility and promote the diverse social and cultural groups within the denomination. Allies are encouraged to advocate the availability of this group. We look forward to meeting you and socially connecting. 
Join Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/j/9636681482
Meeting ID: 963 668 1482
Find your local dial-in number: https://zoom.us/u/achjC8TEle

Friday, June 18th - 9pm EDT /6pm PDT
Saturday, June 19th - 1am GMT / 2am BST / 9am PHST / 11am AEST
Saturday, June 19th
Let Freedom Ring - A Virtual Celebration
June 19th - 1pm CDT / 2pm EDT / 6pm GMT
Hosted by Wichita Falls MCC (Wichita Falls, Texas, USA)
Sentieri è un gruppo spirituale virtuale totalmente inclusivo in italiano. Ci incontriamo una volta al mese su Zoom per discutere di diversi argomenti. Gli incontri sono aperti a chiunque voglia fare un cammino spirituale (in senso lato e non strettamente religioso) insieme ad altre persone, nel rispetto reciproco. Il prossimo appuntamento: sarà il 19 giugno 2021 alle 21.00. Argomento: "Trasformare Dio". Se sei interessato, invia una mail a VirtualMCC@MCCchurch.net per ricevere il link per accedere all'incontro.
Tuesday, June 22nd
“Are All the People in the Bible Heterosexual and Cis-Gendered? Has There Been a Cover Up?”
6pm EDT / 10pm GMT
SunCoast MCC (Florida, USA) and Rev. Elder Dr. Nancy Wilson
Let’s explore this mystery with open minds and hearts! 
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 937 4039 8560 Passcode: 505376
Sanctuary Online Book Study - www.sanctuaryonline.live
Friday, June 25th
Chaplain Connection
10am EDT / 2pm GMT

Questions? Contact Rev. Cathy Alexander at revcathyalexander@mccchurch.net.
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 975 1539 5940
Passcode: 890406
Saturday, June 26th
Sin Fronteras Comunidad Espiritual ICM
(Without Borders Spiritual Community)
7pm EST/ 4pm PST/ midnight GMT
La comunidad Espiritual Sin Fonteras es un grupo de personas como tu que se reúnen virtualmente para establecer conexiones y relaciones en un espacio sagrado, para hablar y compartir en nuestro propio idioma. Si está interesado, envíe un correo electrónico a: VirtualMCC@MCCchurch.net para obtener el enlace ZOOM.
Monday, June 28th
Chaplain Connection
5pm EDT / 9pm GMT

Questions? Contact Rev. Cathy Alexander at revcathyalexander@mccchurch.net
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 975 1539 5940
Passcode: 890406
Wednesday, June 30th
QUEER YOUTH OF FAITH DAY - all day
See the details and links at the top of this newsletter.
ONGOING WEEKLY EVENTS
MONDAYS
CHRISTIANS & COCKTAILS
Every Monday at 6pm EDT / 10pm GMT

Christians & Cocktails is a fun program that offers connection, religious education, and even pastoral care. A diverse panel discusses a seemingly endless array of religious and spiritual topics that are raised from panelists and viewers alike. No question is off limits and you may hear viewpoints you've never heard or considered before. Rev. Durrell Watkins responds to the questions and invites other panelists to share their insights. The conversation is rich, honest, courageous, sometimes irreverent, and always a lot of fun.
TUESDAYS
SanctuaryOnline Summer Schedule
 Second and Fourth Tuesdays at 8pm EDT / midnight GMT
July : 13th and 27th
August: 10th and 24th
THURSDAYS
Prayer Time with the Moderator
THURSDAYS
at 5:15pm EDT / 9:15pm GMT


Join the Moderator for a time of reflection and prayer on Facebook Live.
Bilingual Praise Gathering
Thursdays at 7pm EDT /11pm GMT
hosted by Joy MCC, Orlando, Florida, USA https://zoom.us/j/827025531#success
LOOKING AHEAD
Announcing a new
Virtual Community! 
Starting in October, we will be offering a virtual Sign Language gathering. These gatherings will meet for 1.5 hours at a time once a month. Space is limited for each gathering. If necessary, we may offer more than one gathering a month. Like the other language groups, this will be a place for those who are hearing impaired to gather to talk, freely, about sacred topics in a safe space. If interested, email Rev. Wanda Floyd at RevWandaFloyd@MCCchurch.net to be added to the list of participants.
Hybrid Church Peer Support Sandboxes
During our hybrid church webinars, we learned about the benefit of creatively playing in the sandbox of ideas with others. These Peer Sandboxes offer the opportunity to connect, share, brainstorm and learn with others. If you are not sure which sandbox is best for you, that is okay. Join the one that feels like the best fit. The groupings are meant to be guides rather than directives.

Pondering/Planning - actively working on plans for what's next and in-person
Preparing - installing/learning new equipment; limited meeting in-person
Progressing - adapting, adjusting, tweaking, clarifying
General Sandbox - this time works better for you / less defined
Pondering/Planning
Sandbox

Monday, July 12th 
3:00PM EST 
12:00 NOON PST
8:00 PM GMT

Monday, August 9th
3:00PM EST 
12:00 NOON PST
8:00 PM GMT


Progressing Sandbox

Wednesday, July 14 
1:00 PM EST
10:00 AM PST
6:00 PM GMT

Wednesday, August 11th 
1:00 PM EST
10:00 AM PST
6:00 PM GMT

Preparing Sandbox

Tuesday, July 13 
2:00 PM EST
11:00 AM PST
 7:00 PM GMT

Tuesday, August 10th
2:00 PM EST
11:00 AM PS
7:00 PM GMT



General Sandbox

Wednesday, July 14
7:00 PM EST
4:00 PM PST
12:00 AM GMT

Wednesday, August 11th
7:00 PM EST
4:00 PM PST
12:00 AM GMT
EVENTS FROM OUR UNITARIAN FRIENDS
Wednesday, June 16, 6:00 pm CDT
Dr. Dean Bell, President of Spertus Institute of Jewish Learning and Leadership - a dialogue on contributions of religious and theological education to the public good.

Friday, June 18, 6:00 pm CDT
Rev. Dr. John Buehrens and Rev. Dr. Stephanie May speak about the future directions of the UU History and Heritage Society and UU Collegium and their future partnership with Meadville Lombard.

Saturday, June 19, 7:00 pm CDT
Rev. Tandi Rogers - rituals of mourning and hope, a space for grieving what we have lost since the pandemic started and tending the energy of hope together.

Sunday, June 20, 11:00 am CDT: Meadville Lombard in the Pulpit
Rev. Nancy McDonald Ladd, MDiv ‘04, Senior Minister of River Road UU Congregation in Bethesda, Maryland (USA), will preach on "Going to the Well of Living Waters," based on the Gospel of John 4:1-26. A special musical guest is Mark Miller, faculty at Drew Theological School, and the Institute of Sacred Music at Yale University. This will be a worship service not to be missed, not only for UU audiences but for liberal Christians as well.

All events are free to the public.  https://www.meadville.edu/ml-week-2021/ for the full schedule and to register.
SUPPORT MCC
Metropolitan Community Churches and ShopRaise
Your shopping for the holidays or anytime can benefit MCC! ShopRaise works with charitable organizations to provide supporters a simple way to shop and benefit their cause.
  • Use the ShopRaise app to shop at home and on the go
  • You don't pay more and can still use great coupons and deals
  • MCC Earns
  • Over 1,000 familiar retailers
Please Share or LINK with our Website
Click on the link below to visit a landing page designed exclusively for you. It is your unique starting point to explore the "We're Seeking You!" website and it contains all the information and links you may need. 


Please join us in helping the world to hear these three simple, yet powerful, words from MCC....We're Seeking You!
OUR MAILING ADDRESS
Please share with your Treasurer and Clerk of the Board
2775 NW 49th Ave. Ste: 205-327
Ocala, FL 34482
USA
© 2021 Metropolitan Community Churches


Update Your Profile at the bottom of this email and
choose which newsletters and communications you want to receive from MCC. 
Be aware if you click unsubscribe, it will remove you from ALL FUTURE MCC communications!