January 3, 2023 | Number 1

2023-2024 Legislative Session


In the earlier Legislative Bulletin Senator Stroebel was left off the Joint Finance Committee listing (the legislative website should be updated soon). The listing below is now accurate. Senator Stroebel has been a long time member of the committee and we look forward to working with him and all the JFC members in the upcoming 2023-2025 budget discussions.
Local Government Funding Discussions Continue

The League of Wisconsin Municipalities has hosted meetings, workshops, conferences and more focusing on one point: how do we fix the system of funding local governments. We’ve asked you, our members, to tell legislators, local service clubs, citizens, area businesses, and the media that the system of paying for essential services is broken and we need the Legislature's help to fix it.

We are making progress and there have been several meetings with legislative leadership. Please KEEP TELLING THE STORY, legislators are listening. Continue to discuss the very real problem with funding for critical local services. And remember, we will need you in 2023 more than ever. We need members to communicate what efficiencies and innovations have been locally developed while shared revenue funding has been frozen. With costs of services increasing over time local governments have had to squeeze efficiencies budget after budget. Local leaders are the best at telling the story so stay tuned for opportunities in the new year!
Legislative Composition

The Senate and Assembly both enter the 2023-2024 legislative session under Republican majorities. The Senate composition is 21 Republicans with 11 Democrats and one vacancy due to the retirement of Senator Alberta Darling. The Assembly rings in the new year with 64 Republicans and 35 Democrats. Party caucuses in both houses have held leadership elections and the leadership positions include:
Senate Republicans
·   Majority Leader: Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg)
·   President: Chris Kapenga (R-Delafield)
·   President Pro Tem: Pat Testin (R-Stevens Point)
·   Assistant Majority Leader: Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac)
·   Caucus Chair: Van Wanggaard (R-Racine)
·   Caucus Vice Chair: Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan)
Assembly Republicans
·   Speaker: Robin Vos (R-Rochester)
·   Speaker Pro Tem: Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca)
·   Majority Leader: Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva)
·   Assistant Majority Leader: Jon Plumer (R-Lodi)
·   Caucus Chair: Rob Summerfield (R-Bloomer)
·   Caucus Vice Chair: Cindi Duchow (R-Town of Delafield)
·   Caucus Secretary: Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah)
·   Caucus Sergeant at Arms: Treig Pronschinske (R-Mondovi)

Senate Democrats
·   Minority Leader: Melissa Agard (D-Madison)
·   Assistant Minority Leader: Jeff Smith (D-Brunswick)
·   Caucus Chair: Chris Larson (D-Milwaukee)
·   Caucus Vice Chair: Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton)
Assembly Democrats
·   Minority Leader: Greta Neubauer (D-Racine)
·   Assistant Minority Leader: Kalan Haywood (D-Milwaukee)
·   Caucus Chair: Lisa Subek (D-Madison)
·   Caucus Vice-Chair: Jill Billings (D-La Crosse)
·   Secretary: Kristina Shelton (D-Green Bay)
·   Sergeant at Arms: Lee Snodgrass (D-Appleton)  
Session Calendar and Committee Assignments

The 2023-2024 legislative session begins today with the first floor periods of both houses for inauguration. The legislative 2023 and 2024 calendars have also been set.

Committee Assignments have also been made in each chamber. Although the League works with several committees throughout the legislative session the two that are the most influential for local government are the following:

Chair - Senator Tomczyk (R-Mosinee)
Vice Chair - Senator Cowles (R-Allouez)
Members - Senator Hutton (R-Brookfield), Senator Carpenter (D-Milwaukee), and Senator Pfaff (D-Onalaska)

Assembly Committee on Local Government
Chair - Representative Novak (R-Dodgeville)
Vice Chair - Representative Bob Donovan (R-Greenfield)
Members - Representatives Rick Gundrum (R-Slinger), Scott Johnson (R-Jefferson), Scott Krug (R-Nekoosa), Dave Maxey (R-New Berlin), Tim Michalski (R-Elm Grove), Treig Pronschinske (R-Mondovi), Samba Baldeh (D-Madison), Sue Conley (D-Janesville_, Clinton Anderson (D-Beloit), and Melissa Ratcliff (D-Cottage Grove).

In addition, the powerful budget writing Joint Finance Committee has also been finalized. The Joint Finance Committee will begin its work on the 2023-2025 biennial budget shortly after the Governor introduces the budget in mid-February.

Co-Chairs Senator Marklein (R-Spring Green) and Rep. Born (R-Beaver Dam)
Members - Senators Stroebel (R-Saukville), Felzkowski (R-Irma), Ballweg (R-Markesan), Testin (R-Stevens Point), Wimberger (R-Green Bay), L. Johnson (D-Milwaukee) and Roys (D-Madison) and Representatives Katsma (Vice Chair R-Oostburg), Zimmerman (R-River Falls), Rodriguez (R-Oak Creek), Kurtz (R-Wonewoc), Dallman (R-Green Lake), Goyke (D-Milwaukee), and McGuire (D-Kenosha).

Leadership and Local Government Committee members are key decision-makers in the legislative process. Why not invite them to city/village hall for a cup of coffee and discussion of local needs, budgeting, projects, housing, and more.
Capitol Happenings

January 3, 2023
12 pm: Swearing In Ceremony for Constitutional State Officers, Capitol Rotunda. Governor Tony Evers, Lieutenant Governor-elect Sara Rodriguez, Attorney General Josh Kaul, State Treasurer-elect John Lieber and Secretary of State Doug La Follette. 

2 pm: Senate Inauguration Ceremony, Senate Chambers.
On January 3, 2023, the Senate will convene to conduct the inauguration ceremony for the 106th session of Wisconsin’s State Senate. The 33-member state Senate will swear in seven new members: five Republicans and two Democrats. New Senate members are as follows:
  • Rob Hutton (R-Brookfield)
  • Mark Spreitzer (D-Beloit)
  • Rachael Cabral-Guevara (R-Fox Crossing)
  • Jesse James (R-Altoona)
  • Romaine Quinn (R-Cameron)
  • Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton)
  • Cory Tomczyk (R-Mosinee)

2 pm: Assembly Inauguration Ceremony, Assembly Chambers.
The Assembly will also convene to conduct the inauguration ceremony for the 106th session of Wisconsin’s State Assembly. The 99-member Assembly will swear in 24 new members: 16 Republicans and eight Democrats. These include:
  • Joy Goeben (R-Hobart)
  • Peter Schmidt (R-Bonduel)
  • Darrin Madison (D-Milwaukee)
  • Tom Michalski (R-Elm Grove)
  • Dave Maxey (R-New Berlin)
  • Ryan Clancy (D-Milwaukee)
  • Amy Binsfeld (R-Town of Mosel)
  • Ellen Schutt (R-Clinton)
  • Scott Johnson (R-Jefferson)
  • Jenna Jacobson (D-Oregon)
  • Clinton Anderson (D-Beloit)
  • Melissa Ratcliff (D-Cottage Grove)
  • Jerry O’Connor (R-Fond du Lac)
  • Lori Palmeri (D-Oshkosh)
  • Nate Gustafson (R-Fox Crossing)
  • Ty Bodden (R-Stockbridge)
  • Amanda Nedweski (R-Pleasant Prairie)
  • Karen Hurd (R-Fall Creek)
  • Angie Sapik (R-Lake Nebagamon)
  • Chanz Green (R-Grand View)
  • Alex Joers (D-Middleton)
  • Mike Bare (D-Verona)
  • Nik Rettinger (R-Mukwonago)
  • Bob Donovan (R-Greenfield)

January 24, 2023
2023 State of the State Address
7 p.m. CT 
Assembly Chamber 
Wisconsin State Capitol
2 E. Main St. 
Madison, WI 53703 
February 15, 2023
2023-25 Biennial Budget Message 
7 p.m. CT
Assembly Chamber 
Wisconsin State Capitol 
2 E. Main St. 
Madison, WI 53703 

All of these events can be viewed on Wisconsin Eye.
Email questions or comments to:
Toni Herkert, Government Affairs Director, therkert@lwm-info.org