Executive Order 7V
Safe Workplace Rules for Employers
On April 7, the state Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) issued new Safe Workplace Rules for Essential Employers, which outline additional protective measures that every workplace in Connecticut deemed essential or allowed to remain open, including municipalities, must follow. The Safe Workplace Rules for Essential Employers , which took effect immediately, are mandatory throughout the state.

In addition, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) issued interim guidance on April 8 advising that critical infrastructure workers may be permitted to continue work following potential exposure to COVID-19, provided they remain asymptomatic and additional precautions are implemented to protect them and the community, including taking their temperature before going to work, wearing a face mask at all times and practicing social distancing. Previously, workers were told to stay at home for 14 days if they were exposed to someone who had tested positive for coronavirus.

CDC's interim guidance pertains to critical infrastructure workers, including personnel in 16 different sectors of work including:
  • Federal, state, & local law enforcement
  • 911 call center employees
  • Fusion Center employees
  • Hazardous material responders from government and the private sector
  • Janitorial staff and other custodial staff
  • Workers – including contracted vendors – in food and agriculture, critical manufacturing, informational technology, transportation, energy and government facilities
Property Tax Deferral/Low Interest Program
Under Executive Order No. 7S , municipalities must establish a program to 1) allow eligible taxpayers to defer property tax and utility bill payments by 90 days; 2) provide taxpayers with a reduced interest rate on delinquent taxes of .25% per month or 3% per year; or 3) both. Towns must notify OPM by April 25 regarding which programs they have adopted using the certification form below.

Note: These provisions do NOT apply to special taxing districts and special services districts.

Safe Stores Mandatory Rules
Please be advised that the Safe Stores Mandatory Rules issued pursuant to  Executive Order No. 7S  supersede and preempt municipal orders .

Safe Stores Mandatory Statewide Rules, Amending Executive Order No. 7N, Sec. 3. Effective upon the opening of each retail establishment for the first time on April 3, 2020, every retail establishment in the State of Connecticut shall take additional protective measures to reduce the risk of transmission of COVID-19 between and among customers, employees, and other persons such as delivery drivers or maintenance people. Such rules shall be mandatory throughout the state and shall supersede and preempt any current or future municipal order and shall supersede the requirements of Executive Order No. 7N, Sec. 3, providing that nothing in this order shall eliminate or reduce the requirements of Executive Order No. 7N, Sec. 3 regarding firearms transactions.
Municipal Guidance Webinar
COST, CCM and the CT Councils of Government hosted a webinar on Wednesday to assist municipalities in understanding and complying with the various Executive Orders.

The webinar recording is available here .
Webinar presentations are available here.

If you have any questions regarding any of these issues, please contact Betsy Gara at bgara@ctcost.org or 860-841-7350.