Shining Waters Update: Call for Nominations, Program Webinars and Virtual Camp-Out
Call for Council Voting Representatives!

Shining Waters Council is looking for 3 voting representatives.

Youth members born before December 31st 2006 are especially encouraged to take part.

Scouts Canada is a corporation created by an Act of Parliament and as required, holds an Annual General Meeting (AGM). There are specific statutory requirements for an AGM including approval of financial statements, appointment of public accountants for the next year’s audit and election of Officers and Directors.

To ensure fair and open representation of our membership at the AGM and any special meetings, three Voting Representatives are elected annually to represent each Council.

One of the three Voting Representative positions is reserved for a youth member, but it should be noted that all three Voting Representatives from a Council may be youth members. All members under the age of 27 years on September 1, 2020 are defined as yout h.

This year’s Annual General Meeting will be held on Saturday, November 14, 2020. Council Voting Representative may attend by webcast, video conference, or teleconference. Online voting facilities are made available for this purpose.

All Scouts Canada members born before December 31, 2006 can be nominated as a Voting Representative and can cast ballots for their Council’s Voting Representatives.

The term of the Council Voting Representatives will be September 1, 2020 to August 31, 2021.

There are two stages for election:
  1. Call for Nominations is open from May 12, 2020 until June 9, 2020.
  2. Voting, where required, opens on June 23, 2020 and closes on July 21, 2020.

Nominations

Interested members should download a  Nomination Form here.
Nominations must be submitted to Laura Jarvis, the National Elections Officer via e-mail ( elections@scouts.ca ) no later than 5:00 PM local time, June 9, 2020.

For more information about becoming a council voting representation click here.

Virtual Program Webinars Part 2: Register Today!

Greetings from your Program Support Team, 

We are excited to announce our next set of Webinars for Virtual Scouting 201. Based on the feedback we received from Scouters who attended Virtual Scouting 101 Webinars, Virtual Scouting 201 has been developed. It  will highlight making the most of virtual platforms, tips to avoid Virtual Fatigue, PQAs and more. There will also be an opportunity to break out into Section Specific rooms to discuss Program areas, Top Section Awards and share your ideas and experiences with Virtual Scouting with other Scouters. 
 
Please register in advance using the links below - there are 4 times available:  
  
Session 1 - Jun 4, 2020 9:00 PDT/10:00 MDT/12:00 Eastern Time  
  
Session 2 - Jun 4, 2020 16:00 PDT/17:00 MDT/19:00 Eastern Time 
  
Session 3 - Jun 5, 2020 8:00 PDT/9:00 MDT/11:00 Eastern Time 
  
Session 4 - Jun 5, 2020 12:00 PDT/13:00 MDT/15:00 Eastern Time  
 
Session 5 - Jun 5, 2020 18:00 PDT/19:00 MDT/21:00 Eastern Time  
 
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. 
 
If you have missed our 101, take a look at this recording from our 5 th  session a few weeks ago. 

All Welcome: 1st Mount Albert Group Hosting Virtual Camp-Out May 30th

1st Mount Albert Group invites Scouts far and wide and non-Scouting friends alike to join them in a day-long camp-out at home. The Group has prepared a slate of activities ranging from scout craft, snacks, games, campfire and more!

Camp opens Saturday May 30th at 8:30 am with virtual opening ceremonies.

For more information about the camp-out, including schedule, presenters, and registration, please visit the group's event page here.

Invite your friends and family to join 1st Mount Albert on this awesome virtual event -- it's sure to be memorable!

See you on the Canadian Path!
Sincerely,


Shining Waters CK3
Jason, Kit and Nikki
Company Name | Website