February 2018
CORRECTION: The February Teen and YA Fans Newsletter incorrectly stated that Sandhya Menon would be participating in the "Off the Beaten Path: A Chat with Diverse Authors" event on February 24 at Tattered Cover Colfax. The authors will be Amalie Howard and Ausma Zehanet Kahn.
Happy February!

It’s hard to believe that we’re already a whole month into the year; it feels like the glory of Winter Break was only yesterday. It’s the beginning of what is arguably the most difficult month to spell (was that extra “r” really necessary?) and the natural cycle of the school week is back in action. It’s not always easy to find time to read, but I’ve dedicated myself to revisiting some personal favorites ( Leigh Bardugo Neil Gaiman ) and burying my nose in graphic novels. However hectic your schedule may be, remember to keep your chin up, listen to some music, and obviously, READ.

-- Brynn M., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board

Don't forget to check out February's ARC giveaway below! We just know you'll absolutely LOVE it ;)
Upcoming Events for
Fans of YA Fiction
Wednesday, February 7, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Tamora Pierce, the #1  New York Times  bestselling author of over eighteen novels set in the fantasy realm of Tortall, will discuss and sign  Tempests and Slaughter ($18.99 Random House Books for Young Readers), the highly anticipated first book in a new  Tortall Legend  series called  The Numair Chronicles .
Thursday, February 8, 7:00 pm, Historic LoDo

Joel Christian Gill will discuss and sign  Strange Fruit, Volume II: More Uncelebrated Narratives from Black History  ($19.95 Fulcrum Publishing), a collection of stories from early African American history that represent the oddity of success in the face of great adversity.
Thursday, February 22, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Colorado author Jennifer Alsever will discuss and sign  Venus Shining  ($13.99 Sawatch Press), the third book in her  Trinity Forest  series about a world a breath away from our own, filled with witchcraft, deception, and romance. Perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld’s  Uglies  series.
Saturday, February 24, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Amalie Howard will discuss and sign her young adult fantasy   Dark Goddess  ($17.99 Sky Pony Press), an  Alpha Goddess  novel, about  a sinister threat that arises and puts not just the human world, but all planes of existence in jeopardy. Howard will be joined by Ausma Zehanat Khan and Sandhya Menon.  Meet-and-Sip to follow the event! Bring all your writing questions or talk bookish love with the authors! Hosted with Viniyanka and Sasha from The Word | A Storytelling Sanctuary.
YA Books We Love
On shelves now!
by Marieke Nijkamp

"This book caught my attention from the start and I read it in one night. I thought Corey's grief was realistic and poignant. Kyra is a heartbreaking character. The depiction of the mental illness seemed raw and knowing someone personally who deals with it, I felt it was very truthful. Give this title to those who like John Green's Turtles All the Way Down  or  All the Bright Places  by Jennifer Niven." Toni W., High School Librarian
On shelves now!
by John Green

"Ah, John Green. He is the king of drawing us in and ripping our hearts out, and he will do just that with  Turtles All the Way Down . His prose is breathtaking, his characters are perfectly flawless, and he tackles some pretty intense mental health issues head on. This book is worth reading just to challenge any preconceived notions you may have about OCD and anxiety. (It’s also worth reading for the Star Wars references.) Any fan of John Green, as well as readers who are looking for an emotional book will enjoy." Caitlin D., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board
On shelves now!
by Scott Bergstrom

" The Cruelty  offers a unique darkness that fans of author Victoria Schwab will enjoy greatly. Gwendolyn is a memorable and morally grey character that is sure to capture both the hearts and attention of all readers who are lucky enough to pick up the book. The Cruelty is not a novel you want to miss out on!" Emily B., Tattered Cover Teen Advisory Board member

On shelves now!
by Marieke Nijkamp

"Oh. My. God. I could not put this book down. This is Where it Ends is about a school shooting and is told from four different perspectives. The main character, Autumn, has an abusive father and her brother. Tyler, who has been very close to her forever, is the shooter. The next character is Sylv, who is Autumn’s girlfriend and best friend. She also was raped by Tyler some time before the shooting. Tomas is Sylv’s brother and fierce protector. Tomas is not in the auditorium during the shooting and him and his best friend Fareed manage to break the locks and open the doors. He and Tyler have a bad past together. The final perspective is Claire. Claire is outside the school during the shooting. She is Tyler’s ex-girlfriend and her brother Matt, who is Autumn’s friend and has a chronic disease, is in the auditorium. You need to read this book. I would rate it seven out of five stars." Student at Excel Academy in Arvada, CO
On shelves now!
by Scott Bergstrom

" Dear Martin  is similar to  The Hate U Give  in that it confronted police brutality in America, and it provided me with an idea of the experience minorities in America face everyday that I as a majority would never experience.  Dear Martin  is a heartfelt novel of the daily struggle my fellow humans face every day. This book was complex in the explanation, but simple in its message. We could all benefit from using a bit of empathy, and taking the perspective this book offers makes it easier to reach out." Bridget, Student at Excel Academy in Arvada, CO
Follow us!
Tattered Cover's
YA Bestseller List
December 2017
1. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

2. Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

3. The Book of Dust  by Philip Pullman

4. Everless by Sara Holland

5. Scythe  by Neal Shusterman

6. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

7. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

8. The Chaos of Standing Still  by Jessica Brody


10. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Do you celebrate Valentine's Day?
Yes
No
Depends on the circumstances
Results from last month's poll: Do you participate in New Year's resolutions?

No
53.8%

Yes, but I don't take it too seriously
23.1%

I try to, but it never works out
15.4%

Yes, I'm very strict about it
7.7%
Write a 
Book Review!

Have you ever walked through a bookstore and seen little cards sticking out of shelves with book reviews? Have those reviews ever made you want to buy a book? 

Those cards are called shelf talkers, and we're looking for teens to write shelf talkers for their favorite books. Your friends and family -- and a lot of total strangers -- can see your reviews on the shelves at Tattered Cover. How cool is that? 

To write reviews, send an email to  Kristen Gilligan with "Teen Book Review" in the subject line. 
Teen Writing
Group

Teens come together to share and critique writing, often with a nationally published young adult author as a mentor and participant. An incredible opportunity for aspiring teen writers! Free and open exclusively to teens. 

Meets that last Sunday of each month. This is free and open exclusively to teens. Email  Kristen to RSVP.
Teen Advisory Board

This is a group of book-loving teens who meet every month or so to plan and produce programming for anyone excited about YA literature.

Board members have the opportunity to use their creativity, social media skills, and enthusiasm for books to help with all aspects of event promotion, planning, and execution; introduce (and hang out with) authors at events; write book blurbs; give book talks; get FREE advanced reading copies; and even help select authors who come to the store for events or visit schools.

It's fun, rewarding, and a great resumé builder. Currently, we meet at our Aspen Grove and now our Colfax locations. For more info, read our  TAB Info & Application . To sign up for the TAB, email  Kristen Gilligan . (And tell your bookish friends!)

Author Visits 
in Schools
They're FREE!

I mean, who doesn't love a school assembly? Seriously though, Tattered Cover can bring an author into your school to speak to smaller groups of English or writing classes, or a full school-wide assembly.

The best part is that's there no cost to the school. If this sounds interesting, just connect us with your school librarian or principal.
Listen: 
It's a great way to enjoy a book!

Download the free Libro.fm app, buy an audiobook and get stuff done. Listen while you workout, fold laundry, go on a road trip. Libro.fm has just about every title you could want. It's easy and convenient!
Signed ARC Giveaway: February 2018

HOW TO ENTER
Email   Kristen  with "ARC Giveaway" in the subject line expressing your interest in being entered into the random drawing to win the Advanced Reader's Copy (ARC).

THE RULES
You agree not to sell the ARC. You agree to not quote from the ARC. You must be able to pick up the book at one of our  Denver Metro locations  (Colfax, LoDo, Aspen Grove) .

ABOUT THE BOOK
Love, Life, and the List by Kasie West (on shelves now!).

Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner's summer isn't going the way she'd planned. She has a not-so-secret but definitely unrequited crush on her best friend, Cooper. She hasn't been able to manage her mother's growing issues with anxiety. And now she's been rejected from an art show because her work "has no heart." So when she gets another opportunity to show her paintings, Abby isn't going to take any chances.

Which is where the list comes in. Abby gives herself one month to do ten things, ranging from face a fear (#3) to learn a stranger's story (#5) to fall in love (#8). She knows that if she can complete the list, she'll become the kind of artist she's always dreamed of being.
But as the deadline approaches, Abby realizes that getting through the list isn't as straightforward as it seems . . . and that maybe--just maybe--she can't change her art if she isn't first willing to change herself.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Kasie West is the author of several YA novels, including The Distance Between Us , P.S. I Like You , and By Your Side . Her books have been named as ALA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers and as YALSA Best Books for Young Adults. Kasie lives in Fresno, California with her family
tc logo

~  Bringing People & Books Together Since 1971  ~ 
Colfax Avenue, 303-322-7727
Historic LoDo, 303-436-1070
Aspen Grove, 303-470-7050
Visit our Union Station and airport stores.