April 15, 2021
Ray-Pec Community,

Without a doubt, one of the best parts of what we get to do as educators is to recognize and honor our students for their many accomplishments. This school year, several students have been recognized at our Board of Education meetings for their academic, innovation, community service, and activity successes. I want you to know about the students the Board has had the pleasure of honoring this school year. (This list includes a few students scheduled to be honored at this month's meetings.)

  • 2020 Blue Star Award: Denton Meehan for being selected Outstanding Actor in a Supporting Role
  • 2020 IB Diploma Graduates: Ella Schnake, Larissa Wratney, Alec Heriford, Jay Schroeder, Zoe Shriner, Devin Tilawen, and Te’a White.
  • National Merit Scholarship Finalist: Senior Joel Miles
  • Innovation: 8th grader Ezra Robertson, who used engineering skills and a 3-D printer to help design and create a plastic part to fix hand sanitizer dispensers at South Middle School.
  • Service: Junior Paige Showen for her work to plan, organize, and implement a drive-thru Santa visit experience with a toy and food drive in December. 
  • Service: Seniors Ashlyn Martin and Lucian Howlett, and sophomore Karley Sprankle, for their organization and contribution to the high school’s Polar Plunge team.
  • Service: Senior Tamia Schiele for her intergenerational Valentine Project that included artwork by many Raymore Elementary School students and the delivery of cards and snacks to residents at Foxwood Springs Living Center.
  • Spelling Bee: Creekmoor Elementary School fifth grader Mac Northcraft, winner of the Ray-Pec School District and Cass County Spelling Bees. 
  • Statewide poster contest: Eagle Glen Elementary School fifth grader Amelia Zernikow won the 2021 Missouri Department of Public Safety National Missing Children's Day poster contest.
  • All-State Band and Orchestra: Seniors Lilah Manning and Sage Buckley, and Junior Alden Trageser.
  • All-State Choir: Seniors Payton Ballinger, Sydney Strauss, Jaci Stratton, Denton Meehan, Mark Moorehead, and Austin Planker; and Juniors Addison Hansen and Kennedy Kinnick.
  • All-State Wrestling: Seniors Tyson King and Coleton McElliott.
  • All-State Tennis: Sophomore Peyton Koper.
  • All-State Cross Country: Junior Luke Voelker and Freshman Ashlyn Smith.
  • Football State Championship: The four varsity captains consisting of Conrad Hawley, Gunnar Griffin, Parker Bowen, and Tyson King represented the team at the Board meeting for recognition.
  • Football Simone awards: Senior Conrad Hawley won the Thomas A. Simone Award for outstanding high school football player in the Kansas City metro area. Sophomore Jaidyn Doss won the Otis Taylor Award as the outstanding receiver in the metro.
  • All-State Football: Parker Bowen, Jaidyn Doss, Ben Einess, Philip Fager, Ethan George, Gunnar Griffin, Conrad Hawley, and Tucker Miller.
  • All-State Softball: Senior Laney Killpack and Freshman Hayden Kurtz.

Despite the challenges of the past year, our students have continued to excel both inside and outside of the classroom. We could not be more proud of the many outstanding accomplishments during the 2020-21 school year, both those listed above and the many others that were achieved by our students throughout the district.

Thank you for entrusting your children to the Ray-Pec School District.

Mike Slagle

I am passionately driven by the belief that Everyone Is Created To Flourish