Yankton Day: Advocating for Our Members

Members of the Yankton Area Chamber of Commerce and various business leaders will be heading to Pierre tomorrow, January 29 for their annual agency meetings and legislative reception.

Yankton representatives will meet with Governor Kristi Noem and her new administration, and will visit the House and Senate Chambers. Agency meetings will take place with the newly appointed cabinet Secretaries and Commissioners from the Department of Agriculture, Education, Game, Fish & Parks, Labor, Tourism and Transportation.

That evening, the Yankton Chamber of Commerce and attendees will cohost a social for the legislators and their staff. During the social, the NFAA Easton Yankton Archery Association will host the annual House and Senate Archery Challenge. Mount Marty College, RTEC, Yankton School District and the Yankton Convention & Visitors Bureau will have informational displays that evening for the South Dakota legislators to get a glimpse of the Yankton community.

“The Chamber has taken great pride in the relationships that we have built in Pierre over the past decade and now with new leadership and staffing changes, it is essential that we continue to develop and foster new relationships” says Executive Director Carmen Schramm.

Thank you to all of our sponsors for supporting the Chamber in attending this annual event!
Communicate the Value of Your Work to Stakeholders
Dakota Resources is offering a learning series of three webinars and in-person gathering focused on helping you create powerful messaging for greater impact in your work. The goal of this series is to learn how to share the value of your work with your stakeholders. The series started on January 15, but you can still register and access the first webinar.

Now that the 2019 SD Legislative Session has officially begun, we look forward to updates from the South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and will pass the information along to our members.

This issue contains:
Driver's License Manuals/Tests in Spanish
Concealed Weapons
Gender Identity/Schools
Legislative Terms and Term Limits
Business Day at the Legislature
Reminder - our Chamber conference room and AV equipment is available for free to our members!

Meyer Signs recently took advantage of our conference room to hold a 3 hour training/lunch for around 15 people. Just give us a call at the Chamber to book the conference room when you need it.

"Thank you for the use of the conference room. It worked out great!!!
Dick Thompson, Meyer Signs
Franzen of FDNB Recognized

Nate Franzen of First Dakota National Bank was recently recognized with the Friends of the Industry Award during the Master Pork Producers Banquet on Wednesday, Jan. 9. The South Dakota Pork Producers Council gives the Friends of the Industry Award to state individuals, leaders or businesses for their continued support of the pork industry.

Elks Lodge Earns Grant for CASA

Yankton Elks Lodge 994 has earned a $2,000 Elks National Foundation (ENF) Gratitude Grant which has been presented to officials of the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) program.

YPD Officer Recognized

Officer Bruening of Yankton Police Department was recognized at River City Domestic Violence Center's Dancing with the Stars event for her continued dedication to being an advocate for victims of domestic violence.

Blackburn and Stevens, Prof. L.L.C. Adds Bucher

Blackburn and Stevens, Prof. L.L.C., is pleased to announce that Bert S. Bucher has joined the firm as an associate attorney. Bert is originally from Plankinton, where he worked as a teacher and coach for two school years after graduating from Briar Cliff University in 2012.

Upcoming Ribbon Cuttings

Saturday, February 2 at 1:45 pm
44466 304th Street, Mission Hill

Wednesday, February 6 at 1:30 pm
714 Mulberry St. Ft. Knox Storage building)

Friday, February 8 at 10:00 am
300 West 3rd Street

Wednesday, February 13 at 10:00 am
1101 Broadway Avenue, Ste. 115B

Recent Ribbon Cuttings

Tuesday, January 22 at 10:00 am
2020 Elm Street STE 10

Visit Yankton will be attending the 2019 Vegas Shoot, in Las Vegas Nevada, February 8 - 10.

The Vegas Shoot is the world's largest archery tournament, attracting more than 3,000 archers to compete for cash prizes and world titles.
VFW Pancake Breakfast
Sunday, February 3
8:00 am - 12:30 pm
VFW Post 791, 209 Cedar Street
Capitol St. Pub Super Bowl Party
Sunday, February 3
3:00 - 10:00 pm
401 Capital Street
O ur Journey of Grief & Mourning
One of Four Sessions
Monday, February 4
Opsahl-Kostel Funeral Home & Crematory
Call 665-9679 to learn more.

Meridian District Blizzard Walk
Friday & Saturday, February 8-9
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Meridian District Businesses

Question: "Where's the best place to advertise?"

Amy's Answer:
There are numerous places to advertise, and if you're not careful, you can burn through your advertising budget pretty quickly! Make the most of your dollars by zoning in on the audience that you get the most return from. You may wish to have people of all demographics as your customers, but which populations are really worth spending the funds to target? Find out where and how your target audience is consuming media, and reach them there.

Craig Kennedy, Senate | (605) 773-3851 | craig.kennedy@sdlegislature.gov
Jean Hunhoff, House | (605) 773-3851 | jean.hunhoff@sdlegislature.gov
Ryan Cwach, House | (605) 773-3851 | ryan.cwach@sdlegislature.gov
The Yankton School District School Board regular meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 5:30 pm in the YSD Administration Building unless otherwise arranged.

The Yankton City Commission meetings are held the second and fourth Monday of every month at 7 pm in the RTEC City of Yankton Community Room, 1200 W. 21st Street.

The Yankton County Commissioners meet the first and third Tuesday of the every month at 4 pm in the Commission's Meeting Room of Government Center.
2018 Chamber Board
President -  Barb Rezac;  Vice President -  James Grotenhuis; Secretary/Treasurer - Ashli Danilko;
Past President - Becky Souchek; Board Members -  Cheryl Beck - Shawn Brock - Lee Gill - Kami Guthmiller
Lacey Johnson - Mike Krajewski - Jason Larsen - Cynthia Miller - Stephanie Moser - Tom Schroeder - Todd Woods