Like us on Facebook  View on Instagram  Follow us on Twitter 


August, 2016

Join Our Mailing List 


Corporate Sponsors







Bac Trac Plumbing Logo   



Port Aransas


Elite Diesel  





 Pelican Rest  




 Allure Logo

Cajun Canyons 2013


    Channell Glass 


Farquhar Financial Services  


  Gartner Coatins 





Kona Coast Dental Care 



Performance Diesel Logo  


 The Tarp Depot 






Del Papa Bud 2013    





 Paparda Rey  



R&S Yacht Service 


 Texas Billfish Classic 


Texas Legends Logo  





Back Lake Outdoors

Doxey Lures

Freeport Marina

Friendly Properties of Texas

Hilton's Real-Time Navigator

Houston Home Security Judge

Island Bicycle Company

Mattressland and Furniture

Pelagic Gear

Port O'Connor Rod and Gun

Reactor Resources LLC

Richard Richardson Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Serious Tackle

Silver King Adventures

Smith-Merritt Insurance

Texas Applications Specialists, Inc.

 Trophy Feeders 

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's
Monthly Newsletter
On the Wire
The Lone Star Sh ootou t              

Lone Star Shootout Travis and Jackie Hunter's Backlash was the big winner at the 2016 Lone Star Shootout! In addition to taking home the title Tournament Champion, they also received 1st Place Billfish Release, 2nd Place Tuna, 1st Place Wahoo and Top Captain and Top Mate!


With 45 boats entered in the tournament and an incredible $794,300 in the optional side pots, the Lone Star Shootout has contributed $39,715 to the Club's charitable fund!  We wish to thank each of the tournament participants, sponsors, volunteers and vendors for their participation and support. 


We also wish to extend a very special thank you to Tournament Chairmen Randy Bright and Robert Rickett and Tournament Committee members Kevin Deerman, Kevin Harper, Brian Yeager, Dee Wallace, Allan Legge and Wayne Timmermann for all of their hours spent ensuring a successful Shootout!


Below are the results of the 2016 Lone Star Shootout:




1st Place - Backlash

Owners Travis and Jackie Hunter

3,300 points (Released: 4 blue marlin, 1 white marlin, 1 sailfish)


Top Captain: Travis Hunter

Top Mate: Michael Oglesby 



2nd Place - Buckshott

Owner Marty Strakos

2,250 points (Released: 3 blue marlin)



3rd Place - Amigo

Owner David Denbow

2,250 points  (Released: 3 blue marlin)


Boat Name






1st Place

Billfish Release

Travis and Jackie Hunter

3,300 points

1st Place

Blue Marlin

Slight Edge
Perry Forrester
Perry Forrester
442.5 pounds

1st Place


Down Time
Bobby Walters
Jeff Pachaceh
162.5 pounds
1st Place Dolphin
Relentless Pursuit
Dennis Pasentine
Devin Porter
31.5 pounds

1st Place


Travis and Jackie Hunter
Hunter Ogelsby
54.5 pounds

Click Here to view the full Shootout results. Shootout pictures can be viewed online.

Like us on Facebook  View on Instagram  Follow us on Twitter

It's Party Time!

We want to see YOU at the upcoming Captain's and Mate's parties in Port Aransas AND Freeport prior to the Texas Legends Billfish Tournament and the Texas Billfish Classic!



Captain's Corner
Written by Captain Kevin Deerman
On behalf of the Houston Big Game Fishing Club and it's Board of Directors, I would like to congratulate Captain Kirk Elliott and the entire crew of the "Reel Bounty" for their first place win at Poco Bueno this year! Kirk has fished Poco Bueno every year since its inception in 1969 at the early age of 9 and has definitely put in his time. The "Reel Bounty" also released 6 blues pre-fishing on the way to Poco Bueno and are the team to beat in the HBGFC Club Awards Tournament!
2016 Club Awards Program
Thanks to the Lone Star Shootout and plenty of beautiful fishing days, we have had a huge shakeup in the standings for the Club Awards Program. 
If you haven't already, participate in the year long tournament by submitting a verification form for your catches and releases! Click here  for Club Awards Program information and verification forms.

Current Texas Results
Top Private Boat:    Reel Bounty, Owner Tony Annan, 6,706 points
Top Male Angler:    Tony Annan, 4,112 points
Top Female Angler:   Michelle Perthuis, 750 points 
Top Junior Angler:    Colby Hughes, 1,500 points
Top Captain:    Kirk Elliott, 6,706 points
Top Mate:    Jack Elliott, 7,456 points
Top Blue Marlin:   Perry Forrester, 442.5 pounds
Top Dolphin:     Billy Love, 29 pounds
Top Swordfish:     Notta-Yachta, owner Hunter McGuirt, 1,500 points
 Top Wahoo: 

Stephen Yamin, Jr., 97 pounds
Top Yellowfin Tuna:

Colby Hughes, 115.9 pounds

Current International Results
Top Private Boat:    Patron, Owner Tom Shumate, 46,300 points
Top Charter Boat:    Allure, Owner Hill Dishman, 98,950 points
Top Male Angler:    Hill Dishman, 37,850 points
Top Female Angler:     Patience Douglas, 10,150 points
Top Junior Angler:     Fischer Douglas, 3,750 points

For full results, Click Here.

The Learning Curve
Written by Captain Troy Day
On the conservation end, in a time where good news in fisheries comes few and far between, in the big game world, we are actually pretty fortunate so far. For the first time in a long time, last year NOAA fisheries gave the Gulf sport fishermen our own sub quota for incidental Bluefin tuna catches, and there have been several this year, one of them landed in Texas. The number of big blue marlin caught this year in the Eastern Gulf tournaments is mind boggling, and, while we didn't have a bunch of blue marlin hit the dock at the Lone Star Shootout or Poco Bueno this year, there sure were a lot of blue marlin released. That being said, I think it's important to not sit and be happy with how things are in the big game world. The Blue Marlin Grand Championship just announced that they will go to a 106" minimum for weighed blues next year, the biggest ever in the gulf. Whatever your stance is on release vs modified release vs kill tournaments, I think it's time to reach out and make your stance known.......to TBF, to the tournament directors, to our legislators. Let's not let the debacle over red snapper make inroads into the big game world, let's keep the ball rolling in a positive direction and be proactive. 
Randy King, President
Jasen Gast, 1st Vice President
Robert Rickett, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Jack Beal, Secretary 
Allan Legge
James Helm
John Bowen
Kevin Deerman 
Richard Richardson
Michael Thorn-Leeson, Advisor
T: 409-744-2307, F: 409-744-2313