June 24, 2020
RELEVANCE

Conceived as a response to the difficult times recently facing our world, and choral art in particular, the Genesis Prize is a new initiative of the ACDA Composition Initiatives Standing Committee. The prize seeks to stimulate art emerging from crisis by funding both poets and composers to create new choral works that speak to our time with voices of comfort, hope, peace, and justice.
Application deadline: Aug. 15. Learn more
ADVOCACY

ACDA COVID-19 Response & Advocacy Guidance
On June 15, ACDA released the "COVID-19 Response Committee Report" containing guidance and a statement of support for choral singing and study during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Have questions or comments on the just released Response Committee report? We've created a new forum on the ACDA App where you can ask questions and committee members will be available to dialogue this week. Once in the app, go to Forums >> COVID-19 Response Committee Report to view what's there. To ask a question, go to Forums, click on the + sign, and select the COVID-19 Forum to post in.

Did you miss the webinar done by the Response Committee members on June 22? Listen to the recording here.

Interested in the statements ACDA has issued and signed onto? the scientific research we are helping to sponsor? Take a look at our new Advocacy page on the website. https://acda.org >> Resources >> Advocacy.
STATE ONLINE OFFERINGS

Some state chapters are offering virtual conferences and other events that are open to members in other states. Some are free; some are lower cost than in-person events.

We encourage you to take advantage of any or all - remembering that your state's financial health may depend on revenue generated by a conference, and registration fees will support your state chapter and its future activities.

Following is a sampling of virtual conferences:

Following are webinars:

Is your state offering a virtual conference or webinar open to other ACDA members? Please ask your president or president-elect to submit it to us using this form.
TOOLS

My Choral Coach is a simple guided practice and choral management system that will keep choirs engaged and reaching their goals during this time of physical distancing and isolation. It's just a one-time $50 fee for six-month access, and FREE for all choral singers in your choirs during this COVID-19 period. Learn more.

Curious? Join one or all of the free webinars planned beginning today! All webinars begin at 10:00 a.m. PDT / 11:00 a.m. MDT / 12:00 p.m. CDT / 1:00 p.m. EDT.
  • TODAY: Weds., Jun. 24 - The User Experience, with guest Dr. Geoffrey Boers, University of Washington
  • Thurs., Jun. 25 - How to Build a Recording Using My Choral Coach, with guest Dr. Geoffrey Boers, University of Washington
  • Mon., Jun. 29 - Introduction to the My Choral Coach Mobile App, with guest Tim Sharp, ACDA

Click here to register for any or all of the webinars. You will not receive a confirmation email; just join the YouTube livestream.
NEWS

The Robert Shaw Choral Award is given to a choral leader who has made unusual contributions to the art of choral music. The recipient is chosen by the ACDA Past Presidents’ Council.
Nomination deadline: Aug. 31. Learn more
ACDA APP

If you haven't already downloaded the app, here are the links to follow: here for the iPhone/iOS app  and here for the  Android app. Already a user?  Update the app and log-in again. Hint: Your log-in information is the same on the app as it is on https://acda.org!
This free, one-hour webinar, for music educators, will provide real solutions for blended and online instruction. June 20 at 5:00 p.m. PDT / 6:00 p.m. MDT / 7:00 p.m. CDT / 8:00 p.m. EDT. Register
CHORAL RESOURCES FOR THESE TIMES

ACDA is hosting a webpage that is updated daily containing resources that are particularly useful for choral professionals: Resources for Choral Professionals During the Pandemic .
This email is a weekly Wednesday communication we are sending - for a time - to support and lift up our members during this challenging period.
Wish to unsubscribe to this Wednesday email?
Sign-in at https://acda.org, go to your profile, scroll to your communications preferences, and de-select "Weekly Inspiration." Or, reply with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line and we'll manually remove you from this Wednesday email.
American Choral Directors Association | 405.232.8161 | membership@acda.org | www.acda.org | 545 Couch Dr, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-2207