June 17, 2020
INSPIRATION
Sunday, Jun. 21, 2:00 p.m. PDT / 3:00 p.m. MDT / 4:00 p.m. CDT / 5:00 p.m. EDT
This Father's Day, gather your family and friends to sing for justice in a livestream with song leaders from coast to coast. ACDA is joining as a presenting partner on this event that was envisioned and created by VocalEssence's Associate Conductor G. Phillip Shoultz, III. For this free celebration, Phillip, based in Minneapoliis, MN, has engaged rockstar song leaders from every corner of the U. S.:
  • Melanie DeMore, Oakland, CA
  • Jason Max Ferdinand, Huntsville, AL
  • Alysia Lee, Baltimore, MD

In addition to singing, you can enjoy extraordinary featured performances from:
  • The Aeolians of Oakwood University (Jason Max Ferdinand, conductor)
  • EXIGENCE, a Sphinx professional vocal ensemble highlighting artistry within Black and Latinx communities (Eugene Rogers, founder & conductor)
  • Jovonta Patton, two-time Billboard Gospel chart-topper

The Spotify playlist linked here, " Black Choral Musicians ," created by Justin Braun, features Black choral musicians, arrangers, composers, conductors, and ensembles, and is recommended by Arreon A. Harley-Emerson, incoming chair of ACDA's Diversity Initiatives Standing Committee. In addition to spirituals, this playlist also includes non-idiomatic choral music of Black composers from the Classical era to today.
ADVOCACY

ACDA COVID-19 Response & Advocacy Guidance
On June 15, ACDA released the "COVID-19 Response Committee Report" containing guidance and a statement of support for choral singing and study during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • Stefanie Weigand of Vermont reports that she's already had advocacy success with this report: "I wanted to let everyone know that we in Vermont had been meeting with our arts rep at Vermont's Agency of Education and yesterday I shared the report with him. He got back to me after spending some time reviewing it to say that it was the most thorough and well put together COVID-19 recovery plan he had seen from any arts organization. He is going to sit down with other specialists in his department to talk about using the format as a guide/model for their continuing work at the AOE. This report is a powerful tool not only for our planning but for advocacy! Let's remember that it is only step 1 and now that we have it in our hands we have to continue the committee's work by putting it to good use. 

COVID-19 Arts Relief
Performing Arts Managers and Agents Coalition, a new coalition of 150+ U.S. artist managements and booking agencies in the performing arts, is presenting to Congress a request for COVID-19 arts relief, telling the unique story of this segment of the arts field, while reinforcing policy requests that have been advanced by the broader arts sector.

We are sharing this with you in case you would like to sign the petition and spread the word: http://change.org/artsrelief. For more information, please feel free to contact Charlotte Lee at Primo Artists at charlotte@primoartists.com or go to www.artsrelief.org.
WEBINAR

Monday, Jun. 22, 12:00 p.m. PDT / 1:00 p.m. MDT / 2:00 p.m. CDT / 3:00 p.m. EDT
The 13 members of ACDA's COVID-19 Response Committee, along with President Lynne Gackle and Vice-president Andr é Thomas will hold an hour-long webinar to summarize the report, offer perspectives, and answer questions. Registration has been expanded to 1,000 participants, and the session will also be recorded. The recording will be available by Jun. 23. Register.
ACDA APP

Do you have questions or comments on the just released Response Committee report? We've created a new forum on the app where you can ask questions for consideration at Monday's webinar, and committee members will help answer questions following the webinar over the next week. Once in the app, go to Forums >> COVID-19 Response Committee Report.

If you haven't already downloaded the app, here are the links to follow: here for the iPhone/iOS app  and here for the  Android app. Already a user?  Update the app and log-in again. Hint: Your log-in information is the same on the app as it is on https://acda.org!
RELEVANCE

ACDA, in collaboration with MatchMySound™ and GIA Publications, has created a highly innovative and user friendly web app for the choral community that aids in choral rehearsing and part-learning: My Choral Coach. My Choral Coach is a simple guided practice and choral management system that will keep choirs engaged and reaching their goals during this time of physical distancing and isolation.

My Choral Coach is easy to use and does not require software installation. The app is inexpensive, just a one-time $50 fee for six-month access, and FREE for all choral singers in your choirs during this COVID-19 period. Learn more.

Curious? Join one or all of the free webinars planned beginning today! All webinars begin at 10:00 a.m. PDT / 11:00 a.m. MDT / 12:00 p.m. CDT / 1:00 p.m. EDT.
  • TODAY: Weds., Jun. 17 - The Choral Member and Student Side of My Choral Coach, with special guest Timothy Michael Powell, conductor, composer & educator
  • Thurs., Jun. 18 - Creating & Assigning Content to Groups
  • Weds., Jun. 24 - Getting Started Uploading Public Domain Content
  • Thurs., Jun. 25 - How to Build a Recording Using My Choral Coach
  • Mon., Jun. 29 - Introduction to the My Choral Coach Mobile App

Click here to register for any or all of the webinars. You will not receive a confirmation email; just join the YouTube livestream.
STATE ONLINE OFFERINGS

Some state chapters are offering virtual conferences and other events that are open to members in other states. Some are free; some are lower cost than in-person events.

We encourage you to take advantage of any or all - remembering that your state's financial health may depend on revenue generated by a conference, and registration fees will support your state chapter and its future activities.

Following is a sampling of virtual conferences:

Following are webinars:

Is your state offering a virtual conference or webinar open to other ACDA members? Please ask your president or president-elect to submit it to us using this form.
NEWS

The deadline for submitting nominations for the Julius Herford Dissertation Prize has been extended to July 15. Click here for requirements and procedures.

The European Choral Association is conducting a survey on how the choral world has been affected by the COVID-19 outbreak. Results thus far are available here.
CHORAL RESOURCES FOR THESE TIMES

ACDA is hosting a webpage that is updated daily containing resources that are particularly useful for choral professionals: Resources for Choral Professionals During the Pandemic .
This email is a weekly Wednesday communication we are sending - for a time - to support and lift up our members during this challenging period.
Wish to unsubscribe to this Wednesday email?
Sign-in at https://acda.org, go to your profile, scroll to your communications preferences, and de-select "Weekly Inspiration." Or, reply with "Unsubscribe" in the subject line and we'll manually remove you from this Wednesday email.
American Choral Directors Association | 405.232.8161 | membership@acda.org | www.acda.org | 545 Couch Dr, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-2207