Southside Business Men's Club Newsletter 
Jacksonville Florida's Oldest Business and Civic Organization Founded in 1932
Volume 86, Issue 49
December 16, 2018

No Meeting December 19, December 26  
and January 2.  
Happy Holidays! 
 This week's guest speaker was Rick Mullaney, Founding Director of the Public Policy Institute at JU. He gave an inspiring talk about the restructuring of our local government after a crisis in the 1960s and how it led Jacksonville to develop one of the most unique local governments in the nation, allowing us great possibilities for the future. Rick also hosts the Policy Matters radio show so tune in and give him a listen!
Our Christmas Kids charity event was a big success. Here's a letter we received from a grateful parent: 
 Our next weekly meeting will be January 9, 2019. I look forward to seeing you there. Until then, I wish you and your families a Happy Holiday Season! 
Steve DeSorbo 
2018 President

The newly renovated Jacksonville Beach Golf Club is a course not to be missed! This design promotes both the lower more running shot that most golfers are more adept at and the typical golfer's choice to putt or play bump and run shots near the green. This very enjoyable style of golf that Harrison Minchew's new design promotes along with the innate beauty of our beaches barrier island on this beautiful public golf only property will allow Jacksonville Beach Golf Club to hold its own alongside the very best courses in NE Florida.

Won't You Join Us?
When: Friday, January 18, 2019
Where: Jacksonville Beach Golf Club

First Tee Time: 11:00 am (8 minutes between)

Cost: $36.50 + TAX for green / cart fees per player (range balls not included).

This course has a 72 hour CXL policy, so if you commit and make the paring sheet the Wednesday prior, you are responsible for the cost of the round.

Reserve Your Tee Time
You may reserve your tee time by contacting the SBMC Golf Chair Matt Vallez at . If you are registering for a foursome, please include the names of all your members.   

Blind Draw
Looking forward to meeting you in person at the bar to collect your $5 for the blind draw.

Do you have a question about the event? Email


Our 2019 Officers and Board of Governors will officially be sworn in during the January 9, 2019 meeting.
President                          Bill Bishop
1st Vice President            Walter Smith
2nd Vice President           Brandon Stanko
3rd Vice President            Jon Hill
4th Vice President            Jeanne Maron
Sergeant at Arms             Michael Best
Treasurer                          Mark Wilkinson
Board of Directors:
Single Year Swing Spot: KC Padget
3 year term
Fred Allison
Rod Borum
Angelo Volpe
2 year term
Bob Ascher
Howard Caplan
Ramona Baldwin (taking spot vacated by Hank Duckworth)
1 year term
Jeff Volpe
Jennifer Kazebee (taking spot vacated by KC Padget)
Ken Dean (taking spot vacated by Michael Best)
For questions and comments about the newsletter, 
please email

Thanks to our  
Club Sponsors

Platinum Level

Gold Level

Jon Hill & Jeanne Peterson
Ameriprise Financial Services

Silver Level

Spotlight Speakers  

December 19
No Meeting

December 26
No Meeting

January 2
No Meeting


Lunch Reservations

Join Our Mailing List