Southside Business Men's Club Newsletter 
Jacksonville Florida's Oldest Business and Civic Organization Founded in 1932
Volume 86, Issue 98
November 24,  2019

This week there will be no meeting in observance of Thanksgiving. From all of us here at SBMC, we wish you and your families a warm and Happy Thanksgiving!

To view future Guest Speakers and Events, please visit our  Upcoming Events Calendar.


Wednesday, we welcomed Lorin Thies, Development and Capital Campaign Manager for M.O.S.H. Ms Thies spoke to us of the upcoming major renovation and expansion project, MOSH 2.0! With the goal of breaking ground in December 2020, the changes and additions will include a new MOSH Nosh Cafe, The Digital Dome, and many more new exhibits and interactive spaces! 

Walter Smith
2019 1st Vice President
Our Annual Holiday Party will be held on Saturday, December 14 from 7-11pm at Deercreek Country Club. 

RSVP by December 9th.for the price of $85 per person!

We have reserved a block of rooms at the Sheraton Jacksonville Hotel near the St. John's Town Center at the cost of $109 + tax or with breakfast for two included at $129. Be sure to reserve your room by November 30 for the SBMC rate! Reservations can be made by calling 904-564-4772. 


The deadline to bring in new members for our Membership Competition is December 18th!
We have several members in the running and there is not much time left to bring in new members!
 Be sure to invite you friends and colleagues for your 
chance to win.

 A prize of $1000 will be awarded to the person who brings in the most new members for THE YEAR, with a minimum of three. Any new members you have sponsored up until this point will still count.

For more information, contact Walter Smith:
For questions and comments about the newsletter, 
please email [email protected].


Please see below for our official Slate Of Officers for 2020. Elections will take place at our next meeting on December 4th, so be sure not to miss it!

President:                   Walter Smith
1st Vice President:     Brandon Stanko
2nd Vice President:    Jon Hill
3rd Vice President:     Jeanne Maron
4th Vice President:     Michael Best
Sergeant at Arms:      Fred Allison
Treasurer:                  Mark Wilkinson

Board of Governors

3 Year Term
Ken Petsch
Melody Bishop
John Simms

2 Year Term
Rod Borom 
Angelo Volpe 
Hal Smith (taking spot vacated by Fred Allison)

1 Year Term
Bob Ascher
Howard Caplan
Ramona Baldwin 

Single Year Term 
Mark Goldwich

Christmas Kids - December 7th
Holiday Party - December 14th

Thanks to our  
Club Sponsors

Platinum Level

Gold Level

Jon Hill & Jeanne Peterson
Ameriprise Financial Services

Silver Level

If you are interested in becoming a Sponsor and seeing your company's logo here, please contact Jon Hill at:

Spotlight Speakers   

November 27
No Meeting

December 4
Chris Phillips 
Jax Discount Travel

December 11
Steve DeSorbo
Coordinated Benefits Group

Lunch Reservations

Join Our Mailing List