May 31, 2022

We hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend as we remembered and honored those who sacrificed so much for our country.

In this special edition of the Tuesday Times, we want to celebrate and offer our congratulations for jobs well done! By no means is this a comprehensive list; there are so many outstanding educators in DuPage County, and we are proud to be a part of this community.

On another note, keep an eye out for next week's Tuesday Times. We'll share a host of summer opportunities for educators and administrators.
To the parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and mentors to this year's graduates, CONGRATULATIONS! You supported your loved ones while also serving our county's students, and that deserves a hearty thank you. Whether your loved one graduated from college, high school, middle school, elementary school--or even preschool--your time, energy, and effort did not go unnoticed.
Five years ago, the DuPage ROE was selected to participate in two federal grants on school leadership. This was a unique opportunity to contribute to a national principal professional development impact study. We learned many things from this “pioneer” work but mostly that as a school leader, it is critical to have other great educators alongside you, and even more importantly, the academic, social, and emotional wellbeing of every child who is served. 

It is with great respect and gratitude that the DuPage ROE acknowledges the following principals who rose to the challenge and became one of our pioneer schools for this LEAD grant work:

  • Amy Gray, DeShane Elementary School
  • Bob Yelaska, Heritage Lakes Elementary School
  • Brian Turyna, Wiesbrook Elementary School
  • Brooke Krey, Peacock Middle School
  • Bryan Buck, Monroe Middle School
  • Christine Trendel, Jackson Elementary School
  • Christopher Pietroski, Jay Stream Middle School
  • Dan Krause, Willowbrook High School
  • Debra Klein, Emerson Elementary School
  • Derick Edwards, Johnson Elementary School
  • George Gouriotis, Medinah Middle School
  • Gina Pogue Reeder, Churchville Middle School
  • Jack Andrews, Addison Trail High School
  • Jacqueline Rodriguez, Lowell Elementary School
  • Jamie Pearce, Spring Wood Middle School
  • Jeff Burke, Franklin Elementary School
  • Jeff Mitchem, Lincoln Elementary School
  • John Gustafson, Greenbrook Elementary School
  • Jon Pokora, Waterbury Elementary School
  • Joy Sebastian, Western Trails Elementary School
  • Kathryn Schafermeyer, Whittier Elementary School
  • Korrie McCarry, Cloverdale Elementary School
  • Linda Wit, Franzen Intermediate School
  • Maria Weber, Johnson Elementary School
  • Matt Biscan, Wheaton North High School
  • Natalie Czarnecki, Medinah Intermediate School
  • Paraskevi Stamatoukos, Pleasant Hill Elementary School
  • Patrick Dawson, Stratford Middle School
  • Rachel Bednar, Edison Middle School
  • Rachel Solomon, Churchill Elementary School
  • Sam Bentsen, Fenton High School
  • Sarah Rodriguez, Lincoln Elementary School
  • Scott Klespitz, Forest Glen Elementary School
  • Sean Walsh, Longfellow Elementary School
  • Steve Diveley, Hadley Junior High School
  • Steven Kyle, Carol Stream Elementary School
  • Tim Callahan, Madison Elementary School
  • Tim Riordan, Hawthorne Elementary School

Congratulations to these leaders on a job extremely well done!
Congratulations to Naperville Community Unit School District 203 and Superintendent Dan Bridges for being recognized as one of 13 nationwide "Lighthouse" systems that will serve as a model for positive change in public education. CUSD 203 earned this designation in the area of Social Emotional Cognitive Growth: Comprehensive, Systemic Integration of Social-Emotional Learning.

The AASA, The School Superintendents Association, in partnership with the Successful Practices Network, chose the designates from a cadre of more than 120 demonstration systems representing forward-leaning, urban, suburban, and rural school districts engaged in learning, networking, and working together to help drive education policy and ultimately improve student learning.
We are pleased to share that Timothy Christian School in Elmhurst was recently named an IL ASCD (Illinois Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) Whole Child Award school.

Led by Superintendent Matt Davidson, the school says the decisions they've made over the past two years have been guided by an unyielding commitment to their students. "We have considered the whole child when it comes to our program of education, no matter the controversy or the pressures against us, and we will carry on in the pursuit of what is ultimately best for kids."
Have you connected with us on social media? Check out our pages today and subscribe, follow, or like us to have access to the latest news, resources, and information.
421 North County Farm Road Wheaton, IL 60187 P: 630.407.5800