FRONT ENTRANCE CONSTRUCTION UPDATE
October 10 - The Library’s drive-up book return will be
temporarily unavailable until 2:00p 
Please contact the Library for assistance at 847-526-6225
Whether you are looking for your next great read or want to build up your "to-read" list, check out our new offerings below!
Fall Means Book Awards Season!
Fall for avid readers means BOOK AWARDS SEASON. Being our favorite, this is the time of year when the elite book lists are announced – National Book Awards, Carnegie Medals, and more. Up your reading game by working your way down the following lists! How many have you read, which ones are on your TBR lists?


Elevation
by Stephen King

Just in time for Halloween, another King novel, set in his favorite place: Castle Rock. It’s about a man with a mysterious illness who tries to unite the town in support of all its citizens, including his neighbors, who are facing prejudice as they try to open a restaurant. It’s King, so expect some creepy scary!
Bitter Orange: A Novel
by Claire Fuller

In 1969, Frances Jellico departs from home for the summer for a residency at Lyntons, a historic countryside manor. Living in the attic, Frances spends her days studying the architecture of the gardens, all the while befriending Cara and Peter, the couple living below her. But as the days grow longer, strange things begin to happen around the house, and Frances realizes that Cara and Peter aren’t quite who they seem to be. Unsettling and eerie,  Bitter Orange  is an ideal October chiller.


Little
by Edward Carey

This is one of our most anticipated books of the second half of 2018. It’s a historical novel, about a young orphan in Revolutionary Paris, who grows up to be the famous Madame Tussaud, she of the wax museum fame. It’s wonderful and charming, strange!
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

Kingsolver returns with her first novel since Flight Behavior six years ago! This one is about a middle-aged woman who attempts to have her dilapidated home declared a historical landmark in order to keep it from falling completely apart, which it also turns out is also a metaphor for her family life. We can’t wait to read this!

The Witch Elm: A Novel
by Tana French

This author is known for her atmospheric true-crime novels. Her latest work tells the story of a man who returns to his family home after a traumatic burglary left him physically and mentally damaged. All seems right until one of his younger relatives discovers a human skull in the trunk of an old tree, launching a police investigation that casts a shadow over the family.  The Witch Elm  is more of a slow burn, but French’s alluring storytelling keeps you hooked.
The Library Book
by Susan Orlean

An investigation of the fire that devastated the Los Angeles Public Library in 1986 evolves into a page-turning history of the immense impact libraries and books have had throughout time. Profoundly moving and enlightening, and a clear call to readers to appreciate and support their libraries. 

Virgil Wander
by Leif Enger

The first novel in ten years from award-winning, million-copy bestselling author Leif Enger,  Virgil Wander – totally worth the wait! This is an enchanting and timeless all-American story that follows the inhabitants of a small Midwestern town in their quest to revive its flagging heart. We fell in love with the writing alone; luminous, rich – Enger’s signature masterful storytelling. If you end up on the wait list for this title, do yourself a favor and pick up his earlier novel, Peace Like a River. So, so good!

November Road: A Novel
by Lou Berney

Set in the weeks just after JFK’s assassination, a mob hit man on the run meets a woman who has just impulsively left her alcoholic husband. A beautifully written suspense novel that’s hard to put down, with well-developed, sympathetic characters and plenty of intrigue. Fans of John Hart and Dennis Lehane will appreciate this fast-paced thriller.


The Clockmaker's Daughter
by Kate Morton

A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House—the story of a love affair and a mysterious murder that cast their shadow across generations, set in England from the 1860's until the present day. Kate Morton is a library staff favorite. Her novels are rich, broody, total “loose oneself in a book” worthy. Her novels on audiobook are a real treat, so you might want to give this (and others) a listen.

One Day in December: A Novel
by Josie Silver

A lovely debut novel about what happens after you meet, or rather,  don't  meet “the one.” This romance begins with a chance connection at a bus stop and brews in secret over a number of years. One Day in December  is a joyous, heartwarming and immensely moving love story to escape into and a reminder that fate takes inexplicable turns along the route to happiness.