Regional Citizens Advisory Council

Representing citizens in promoting environmentally safe marine transportation and oil facility operations in Cook Inlet since 1990.
CIRCAC Board and Annual Meeting
The CIRCAC Board of Directors met virtually and held its annual meeting on April 8th.

We received from the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation and the Alaska Department of Natural Resources. Tim Robertson of Nuka Research announced forthcoming updates to our 10-year Vessel Traffic Study, last updated in 2020. Lori Nelson from Hilcorp and Todd Duke from Resolve Marine each provided operational updates and presentations.
Scholarship Winners Announced
We are proud to announce recipients for CIRCAC’s annual scholarship program.

Matfey Reutov, a graduating senior at Voznesenka won our Captain Barry Eldridge Memorial Scholarship for Maritime Studies.

Dominic Austin, a graduating senior from West Anchorage High won our James Carter Memorial Scholarship for Environmental Science.

Thanks to Scholarship Selection Committee members Capt. Bob Pawlowski, Rick Frederic and Carla Stanley.
Board Member Spotlight
In the coming months, we’ll be reviving a feature of our newsletter, spotlighting our dedicated volunteers who serve as the CIRCAC Board of Directors. This month, we meet Carla Stanley. Carla was first appointed to the CIRCAC Board of Directors in 2004 representing the city of Homer.

Remembering Rep. Don Young
The CIRCAC staff and Board of Directors was saddened to learn of the passing of Rep. Don Young in April. Rep. Young was a co-sponsor of and leading proponent for the passage of the Oil Pollution Act of 1990, the federal legislation created following the Exxon Valdez oil spill that created the citizens advisory group model we and our colleagues at Prince William Sound RCAC operate under.
Past Board President Molly McCammon transitions from CIRCAC Board

After 18 years, we are saying a partial goodbye to Board member Molly McCammon. Molly was first appointed to represent the Municipality of Anchorage in 2004 and since that time has left a big mark on the organization, serving at various times as Board President, Chair of the Environmental Monitoring and Executive Committees and winning the 2015 Glen Glenzer Volunteer of the Year Award.
A direct and compelling headline
8195 Kenai Spur Highway
Kenai Alaska 99611
Phone: 907-283-7222
Free: 800-652-7222
Fax: 907-283-6102