September 5, 2022

Council President Helena Moreno Issues Statement on Passing of Mayor Moon Landrieu

NEW ORLEANS - Council President Helena Moreno has released the following statement on today's loss of former Mayor Moon Landrieu:


“Mayor Landrieu transformed civic and political life with his courageous fights on behalf of the people of New Orleans, particularly around racial and economic justice. Along with his extraordinary wife Verna, Moon built a sprawling family deeply committed to public service and progress towards a better world. He will be long remembered as a leader who ignited transformative changes for racial justice, desegregation, and economic equality. His children, among them a Mayor, a Senator, a Judge, lawyers, and civic leaders, continue his example of servant leadership to our community, building a legacy of change in their wake. 

Moon never stopped serving, mentoring countless civic and political leaders, lending his time and attention to causes here at home and across the world. He has left an indelible mark on our City and will be greatly missed.”


Media Contact:

Andrew Tuozzolo

Chief of Staff, Office of Helena Moreno


New Orleans City Council
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of the New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has the final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and Councilmembers-at-large: Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; Council Vice President and Councilmember-At-Large JP Morrell; District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso, III; District "B" Councilmember Lesli D. Harris; District "C" Councilmember Freddie King III; District "D" Councilmember Eugene J. Green, Jr.; and District "E" Councilmember Oliver M. Thomas, Jr.
Facebook  Twitter