February 22, 2021
Council President Helena Moreno Orders Investigation of Power Infrastructure to Prevent Catastrophic Failures Seen in Texas
NEW ORLEANS - Today, Council Utilities Chair Helena Moreno announced the launch of a Council inquiry into the level of weatherization in Entergy power production infrastructure to protect ratepayers from winter weather disruptions similar to those in Texas. 

In Texas, preliminary reports show that lack of weatherization caused the failure of natural gas, coal, wind and nuclear power generation. To prevent this type of catastrophe in our area, Chair Moreno has ordered the Council utility advisors to assess plants owned or partly owned by Entergy that serve New Orleans then issue a report on the status of weatherization. Based on that report, additional action by the Council may be taken. A letter informing Entergy New Orleans CEO David Ellis of this weatherization assessment was sent last Friday.

"Climate change continues to rapidly increase the stress on our infrastructure, and we must do more to protect ourselves from weather-related disruptions like those that caused chaos due to multi-day blackouts in Texas," said Council President Moreno. "I'm calling for an immediate review of the weatherization and preparation of the infrastructure that serves power to New Orleanians to ensure Texas-style disruption never happens here." 

This matter will be discussed during Tuesday’s special Utilities and Public Works Committee meeting, along with the blackouts that occurred on the evening of February 16. The lack of communication from Entergy New Orleans left many customers confused regarding the protocol for blackouts, the reason power was lost, and why power for critical infrastructure like the Sewerage and Water Board was shut off. 
The special joint Utility, Cable, Telecommunications and Technology and Public Works Committee meeting is scheduled for tomorrow, February 23, at 10 AM. To view the meeting agenda or submit public comments, click here. Live coverage will be available on the Council's website at


Media Contacts:
Andrew Tuozzolo
Chief of Staff, Office of Helena Moreno
New Orleans City Council
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of the New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has the final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and Councilmembers-at-large: Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso; District "B" Councilmember Jay H. Banks; District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer; District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett; and District "E" Councilmember Cyndi Nguyen.