July 26, 2018
Council President Releases Statement on the Attack of George Gomez
Councilmember-At-Large Jason Williams
NEW ORLEANS - Councilmember-At-Large Jason Williams took a point of personal privilege at the top of this morning's Regular City Council Meeting after the Pledge of Allegiance to apologize to George Gomez on behalf of the City of New Orleans.
Council President Williams said, "This community suffered a major setback this week. Our collective humanity suffered this week from the actions of two men, two off-duty new police officers. Depending on who you ask, the NOPD is between 95 percent and 75 percent in complete compliance with all federal consent decree requirements. Our federal consent decree compliance is unprecedented nationally. We have gone above and beyond thanks to Chief Michael Harrison and Judge Susie Morgan. However, after a few drinks, a couple of new officers engaged in despicable, repulsive racist acts of violence against one of our fellow citizens. A good and kind man by every account. A patriot. A veteran. A good neighbor.
Mr. George Gomez, as Council President I need to publicly apologize to you on behalf this city. I am sorry for the pain and anguish that has been inflicted on you. I understand and respect your desire to not join us today. I don't know if it would be here now either.
As chair of the Criminal Justice Committee I need you, your family and your neighbors to know that I will be looking into the background searches conducted on former officers Galmon and Spencer. I will do my level best to make sure that our background investigations are thorough and rigorous enough to weed out persons not fit to wear the uniform. Those two officers do not represent the dedicated hard working men and women of the NOPD. What they did disparages them and us as a city. Mr. Gomez, again on behalf of the City of New Orleans, I am sorry and thank you for the service to our country."


Media Contact:
Katie Hunter-Lowrey
Director of Communications
Councilmember Jason Rogers Williams, At-Large
1300 Perdido St., Room 2W50
cell: (504) 345-4076
New Orleans City Council 
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and two Councilmembers-at-large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Jason R. Williams; Council Vice President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso; District "B" Councilmember Jay H. Banks; District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer; District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett; and District "E" Councilmember Cyndi Nguyen.