August 11, 2020
Councilmember Palmer to Host Virtual Meeting to Discuss French Quarter Pedestrianization  
NEW ORLEANSDistrict "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer will host a virtual meeting to discuss pedestrianization plans for the French Quarter. The public meeting will give residents an opportunity to share their thoughts and concerns about the City's process of exploring the idea of making the French Quarter more pedestrian-centric. 

In May, Mayor LaToya Cantrell launched an internal team to explore the process of developing pedestrianization concepts for the French Quarter. At Councilmember Palmer's request, she also instructed her staff to engage with an external stakeholder group of representatives from the various resident and business associations in the French Quarter. Both groups operated with the following goals in mind:
  • Offer a safe, accessible and comfortable environment for residents and visitors to enjoy;
  • Improve the overall quality of life with sustainable near- and long-term pedestrian-centric approaches;
  • Provide creative opportunities that support the full business ecosystem to reopen, recover and thrive as we move through and beyond COVID-19 restrictions; and
  • Establish an inclusive framework and processes for decision-making that ensures pedestrianization efforts support improved outcomes for all stakeholders.
As part of the process, Mayor Cantrell has surveyed more than 2,000 French Quarter residents and created a webpage which provides studies being utilizing in the planning process, and the City's plan for public engagement. 

WHAT: Virtual public meeting to discuss pedestrianization plans for the French Quarter

WHEN: Monday, August 17, 5:30 PM to 7 PM

Please note: Due to the expected high number of participants, questions will only be allowed through the Zoom chat feature and text messages. You can also submit your questions and feedback in advance by emailing .


Media Contact:
Tiffaney Bradley
Communications Director
Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer, District "C"
(504) 295-4970
New Orleans City Council
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and two Councilmembers-at-large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Jason R. Williams; Council Vice President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso; District "B" Councilmember Jay H. Banks; District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer; District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett; and District "E" Councilmember Cyndi Nguyen.