Sept. 18, 2015
CCAO nominating committee appointed

The CCAO Board of Directors approved the appointment of a five-member nominating committee that will be chaired by Debbie Lieberman, Montgomery County Commissioner. Other members of the committee include: 
  1. Bob Corbett, Champaign County Commissioner
  2.  Kerry Metzger, Tuscarawas County Commissioner
  3. Otto Nicely, Defiance County Commissioner
  4. Daniel Troy, Lake County Commissioner          
It is the responsibility of the committee to recommend a slate of officers and board members to be elected at the Annual Business Meeting on Monday morning, Dec. 7, during the CCAO/CEAO Winter Conference. Nominations will also be accepted from the floor. The committee will be nominating candidates for the offices of president, first vice president, second vice president, secretary and treasurer. In addition, eight members will be nominated to serve on the Board of Directors for two-year terms. The Nominating Committee will also fill any vacancies that may exist where members elected to a two-year term will not be returning to office or where a member forfeits office for non-attendance.
The Nominating Committee is also governed by a Board resolution adopted in 2011 that limits the number of consecutive years a person can serve as either treasurer (not more than three consecutive years) or secretary (not more than one consecutive year). Also, persons serving in the offices of treasurer and secretary must be of different political parties. In addition, in order to be eligible to be nominated as an officer, an individual must be from a member county and have served a term of at least one-year on the CCAO Board of Directors. 
The eight members whose terms to the Board expire this year include: Tony Anderson, Fayette County Commissioner; Bob Corbett, Champaign County Commissioner; Lenny Eliason, Athens County Commissioner; Bob Glaser, Greene County Commissioner; John Love, Putnam County Commissioner; Otto Nicely, Defiance County Commissioner; Ann Obrecht, Wayne County Commissioner; and Brian Stewart, Pickaway County Commissioner. 
The nine members appointed by President Halleck, whose one-year term to the Board expires at the end of this year, include: Kathleen Chandler, Portage County Commissioner; Mike Crabtree, Scioto County Commissioner; Janet Weir Creighton, Stark County Commissioner; Carl Davis, Monroe County Commissioner; Pat Geissman, Medina County Commissioner; Gary Merrell, Delaware County Commissioner; Glenn Miller, Henry County Commissioner; T.C. Rogers, Butler County Commissioner; and Barb Queer, Ashland County Commissioner.
The CCAO Bylaws also provides the six most recent past presidents who still hold the office of county commissioner, elected executive, or member of the legislative authority of any charter county or any county organized under an alternative form of county government and who elect to serve as a member, a seat on the Board of Directors.  In 2015 those individuals will include: Mike Halleck, Columbiana County Commissioner; Nick Kostandaras, Summit County Council Member; Gary Lee, Union County Commissioner; Deborah Lieberman, Montgomery County Commissioner; David Dhume, Madison County Commissioner; and Paula Brooks, Franklin County Commissioner.  
The Committee must make its recommendations no later than Nov. 18.  The report will then be published in Counties Current and an individual copy of the report will be sent to each commissioner. 
On Sept. 18, CCAO sent to all county commissioners, executives and council members a CCAO Officer/Board Member Request Form and a Nominating Candidate Questionnaire. Both forms must be returned no later than Oct. 30 to the committee chair: Debbie Lieberman, Montgomery County Commissioner, P.O. Box 972, 451 W. Third Street, Dayton, OH 45422-1110 or you may email your form to .     
In addition, mail a copy to CCAO, 209 E. State Street, Columbus, OH 43215, in an envelope marked: NOMINATING COMMITTEE - ATTENTION:  KATHY DILLON or you may email your form to
If you have any questions, feel free to contact Deborah Lieberman at (937) 430-4509, or call CCAO Executive Director Suzanne Dulaney at (614) 221-5627 or (888) 757-1904.

Classified ads are published free of charge as a service to counties.  

County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO)
209 East State Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

For a printable version of "Counties Current," click here.