Pines has spent 25 years on the College Park campus and is dean of the university’s A. James Clark School of Engineering. His appointment is effective July 1, 2020.

As dean of the engineering school with over 6,000 students, Pines has led the development and implementation of a strategy to improve teaching in fundamental undergraduate courses and raise student retention, achieve success in national and international student competitions, place new emphasis on service learning and grand societal challenges, promote STEM education among high school students, increase the impact of research programs, and expand philanthropic contributions to the school.
Three Clark School faculty members (Kimberly Stroka, Ryan Sochol, and Mark Fuge) have received Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The CAREER Program offers NSF’s most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.

Distinguished University Professor John Baras has been named a Fellow of the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) for fundamental and high impact contributions to Internet over satellite technology, cybersecurity, automatic control, model-based systems engineering, and for academic leadership.

Beyond building better cars, this year’s leaders of Terps Racing—the A. James Clark School of Engineering’s award-winning student program dedicated to designing, building, testing, and racing a formula-style racecar, an electric formula-style racecar, and a baja-style offroad vehicle in collegiate competitions each year—are making strides to build a stronger community of inclusivity and diversity that is welcoming and supportive of its women engineers.
The Clark Doctoral Fellows Program was launched in 2017 to support high-performing engineering Ph.D. students at the A. James Clark School of Engineering as part of a $219.5 million investment by the A. James & Alice B. Clark Foundation.