The 2012 ACC
Agency Best Practices Award
 To be presented on July 18, 2012 during the 
ACC/FAA/TSA Summer Workshop Series Awards Luncheon


The Airport Consultants Council is pleased to be soliciting nominations for the 2012 ACC Agency Best Practices Award. Please help to identify worthy individual(s) with the FAA or TSA who exemplify teamwork; are innovative and flexible; and go above and beyond to cooperate with stakeholders.


Your firm may submit more than one nomination. To strengthen your nominee's chances of being selected, include the support of multiple ACC member firms in your nomination submittal. Please DO NOT notify the nominee of your intent to or that you have submitted their names for this award for two reasons: 1) The identity of the selected recipients will remain unknown until the awards luncheon (this approach has worked extremely well); and 2) It becomes awkward for those not selected in a given year (they may be nominated and selected the following year). Someone at ACC Headquarters will notify an appropriate colleague of the selected recipient(s) to make sure that they will be attending.


Nominations Format - Please use the following format for submittals:


1.     Nominee: Identify the individual with title, organization, and contact information (address, phone, email)

2.     Nominator: Identify the individual submitting the nomination with title, organization and contact information
3.     Reason/Qualifications: Using the questions below as a guideline; describe in 150 words or less the nominee's contributions that warrant their selection for this award.


Questions to consider as you select your nominee:

  • Who has shown a spirit for streamlining?
  • Who has gone above and beyond to cooperate with stakeholders?
  • Who has exemplified teamwork?
  • Who has initiated or taken part in an innovative project?
  • Who has remained flexible and worked to benefit all involved?


Nominations will be reviewed and award recipients will be selected by the ACC Agency Best Practices Selection Committee that includes the 2011 Technical Committee Chairs. The committee will be led by ACC Awards Committee Vice Chair Carol Lurie with Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc. 


Awards will be presented on Wednesday, July 18, 2012 during the ACC/FAA/TSA Summer Workshop Series Awards Luncheon.  Please direct questions to new ACC Manager of Marketing & Services, Colleen Flood, via email at or via phone at (703) 683-5900. All nominations should be sent to the same email address by Friday, April 6, 2012 following the guidelines above. We look forward to hearing from you and celebrating these exceptional individuals! 

Past Winners


2011       Doug Hofsass, TSA Headquarters

              Amie McCormick, FAA Southern Region

2010       FAA Headquarters/Regions/ADOs (stimulus fund distribution)

2009       Mark McClardy, FAA Western-Pacific Region

              LaVerne Reid, FAA Eastern Region

2008       Robert Commaroto, TSA Headquarters

              Ed Melisky, FAA Headquarters

2007       Matthew Di Giulian, FAA Eastern Region

              Rodney Joel, FAA Headquarters

2006       Jack Fowler, FAA Eastern Region's Service Center Planning & Requirements office

              Jack Scott, FAA Northwest Mountain Region's Pavement & Construction office

2005       Joe Delia, FAA Eastern Region's Washington ADO office

              Greg Sweeny, FAA Great Lake Region's Chicago ADO office


For more information, go to