Spring 2021
Dear Students, Faculty, Staff and Alumni,
The Class of 2021 received their diplomas on May 1, 2021, and soon will begin their residency training from the west coast--Hawaii and California, to the east coast--Maine to Florida, and everywhere in between! NEOMED’s outstanding 2021 Residency Match list can be found here. A quick glance shows that 99% of the class matched into residency positions; 56% will stay in Ohio to do residency training, 40% of which will be at NEOMED affiliated hospitals; and 51% matched into primary care. When psychiatry is added to primary care, the number is 58%! Both Match Day and Commencement were College highlight events of the year!
This time of year is certainly one of transition. Our first-year students have recently completed the last of their curricular responsibilities; second-year students are studying for the USMLE Step 1 examination; and third- year students are finishing clerkships while also studying for the USMLE Step 2 examination. Over a chaotic time, their perseverance has led to these exciting transitions.  Our faculty and staff have shown the same resilience-- supporting, mentoring, and advising students, while also succeeding in research and scholarship and serving the College.
This Dean’s Message celebrates a few of the many achievements of our students, faculty, and staff. Events of the last year have certainly taught us, it is that we, as a College and a community, are capable, proud, and strong, and I am proud to celebrate our students, faculty and staff.

We are excited to welcome our incoming first-year class in July and we look forward to having our students back to campus for the start of a new academic year.

Elisabeth Young
Elisabeth H. Young, M.D., FACP
Vice President for Clinical Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine
Professor of Internal Medicine
Students in the News
College of Medicine
students have a successful 2021 Match Day

The 2021 College of Medicine Awards recognizes outstanding student achievement

College of Medicine students recognized for their leadership at the Student Leadership Awards

The College of Medicine congratulates the NEOMED class of 2021 graduates!

Faculty Highlights
College of Medicine faculty recognized for outstanding university achievement
Amy Lee, M.D. ('88), M.P.H, M.B.A.
Jeffrey Mellott, Ph.D.
Julie Aultman, Ph.D.
Liya Yin, Ph.D.
Margy Sanders, M.A., LSW
Celebrating Anita Pokorny, M.Ed.
After more than 30 years of service to the NEOMED community, Anita Pokorny, M.Ed., assistant dean of students for the College of Medicine, retired at the end of May.
Anita Pokorny's impact on NEOMED has been immense. Since beginning her career at NEOMED in 1989, she has served as assistant director of financial aid; director of student services and registrar; and director of career development and advising. In each of these roles, she has always been committed to serving and helping students achieve their academic goals. In 2017, the College was fortunate enough to have her accept the position of assistant dean of students – a role in which she oversaw the residency match process, advising, and student professional development, providing exceptional overall guidance and advocacy for medicine students. 
Among the many accolades over the course of her career, Anita Pokorny has for an impressive 17 times – including this year – been selected by the fourth-year student body to receive the Outstanding Service Award. Her legacy will live on through those who work to serve students and guide them through their medical school journey.
New Faces
Michael Forbes, M.D. joined NEOMED as the chair of pediatrics earlier this year following the departure of Norm Christopher, M.D.

Dr. Forbes is a NEOMED professor of pediatrics. He is a pediatric intensivist at Akron Children's Hospital as well as medical staff president, chairman of the Department of Pediatrics and director of clinical research and outcomes analysis for the pediatric intensive care unit.

Dr. Forbes is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He completed his pediatric residency and pediatric critical care fellowship at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh.
Corrie Stofcho, M.D. ('06), has joined the College of Medicine as the assistant dean of students. In this role she will provide oversight for medical student affairs which includes student services, student advising and student promotion, career advising and mentoring students through the residency application process.

Dr. Stofcho has a long history working with students both in the hospital setting and as a NEOMED faculty volunteer, acting as a 4th year faculty advisor and specialty advisor for military students. As a pediatric hospitalist at Akron Children’s Hospital, she worked within the department of medical education, precepting both students and residents. She most recently served as a pediatric hospitalist at Cleveland Clinic Children’s Hospital.

Dr. Stofcho is a proud alumna of NEOMED and currently serves as president of the NEOMED alumni board. As a NEOMED student, she was a recipient of a HPSP Scholarship from the United States Navy, where she completed her residency in pediatrics and served for six years.
Iris Mirelez, M.Ed., has joined the College of Medicine as the assistant director of student diversity. In this role she will coordinate and implement efforts to recruit, enroll, and support historically underrepresented students in medicine in alignment with the University’s and the Colleges’ missions, demonstrating a commitment to access and inclusion.

Iris Mirelez brings significant experience serving students to her role at NEOMED. Prior to her arrival, she served as the director for the One Stop Shop for Student Services at Kent State, which combined student services related to financial aid, billing and student records. Prior to her time at Kent State, she served in a variety of student focused administrative roles at Wright State University.

Iris Mirelez has a bachelor's in mass communication and a masters of education and human services both from Wright State University.
In Memoriam
Dinah Fedyna, M.D. ('82)
Professor of Family and Community Medicine

William Smucker, M.D.
Professor of Family and Community Medicine

Elizabeth Whitaker, M.D. ('91)

Kimberly Eickholt, M.D. ('05)
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology

Brian Hayes, M.D. ('99)

Please send any COM faculty and staff tributes to Jennifer Lint, jlint@neomed.edu.