The A. James Clark School of Engineering is proud to announce the appointment of Deb Niemeier to an endowed chair established as part of Building Together: An Investment for Maryland. A National Academy of Engineering member, Niemeier has helped spur policy and regulatory changes through her groundbreaking research in the areas of vehicle emissions, air quality, affordable housing, and infrastructure funding.

Ion Storage Systems (ISS) announced the closing of an $8M financing round. ISS is focused on developing the most energy dense and safest batteries that can be deployed in any environment. Their breakthroughs in solid state battery technology have led to a batt ery that meets mission critical needs for the defense and aerospace industries, and are safer, lighter, and smaller for consumer electronics and electric vehicles.

Christine Hartzell, assistant professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, is the mission scientist on Janus, one of three finalist missions selected by NASA for future small satellites. The missions will contribute to NASA’s goal of understanding our solar system’s content, origin, and evolution. They will also support planetary defense and help fill in knowledge gaps as NASA moves forward with its plans for human exploration of the Moon and Mars.

Researchers at the University of Maryland have captured the most direct evidence to date of a quantum quirk that allows particles to tunnel through a barrier like it’s not even there. The result, featured on the cover of the June 20, 2019, issue of the journal Nature , may enable engineers to design more uniform components for future quantum computers, quantum sensors, and other devices.

Fischell Department of Bioengineering Associate Professor and Associate Chair Christopher Jewell was awarded two new National Institutes of Health (NIH) Research Project Grants (R01) to improve multiple sclerosis treatments and the design of vaccines for cancer or infectious diseases, respectively. In addition, Jewell was named a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE).

Featured Program
The Clark Doctoral Fellows Program was launched in 2017 to support high-performing engineering Ph.D. students at the A.James Clark School of Engineering as part of a $219.5 million investment by the A. James & Alice B. Clark Foundation.