Learn all about what the Community Foundation is up to this month!
December 2017
Thank you to our donors!
The Community Foundation would like to recognize and thank the following individuals, families, and organizations for their generous donations in the months of October and November 2017. Your support is greatly appreciated.
Donations can be made;
 Online through the Donate Now button
Mailed to 1701 N Wayne St, Angola, IN 46703
Or brought into the office between 8:30 and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
  David and Kathy Bruns Commit To Giving Back

David and Kathy Bruns recently established the David and Kathy Bruns Fund at the Steuben County Community Foundation (SCCF). This fund will support faith-based and education-related organizations in the community and will be funded through their estate. 

“We have known about SCCF since it was formed and have watched it grow into a very vital part of our community,” said the Bruns’. We have been blessed and want to make sure the faith-based and education-related organizations we support now will continue their excellent work long after we are gone. We are confident that SCCF’s investment policies are sound and will continue our philanthropy footprint into the future. It was very easy to set up our fund. The CEO did a good job explaining options and answering our questions. We were excited to learn that having this fund actually simplifies our estate planning! We know that every dollar received by a nonprofit is a vote of confidence in its mission, leadership, and legacy of accomplishments. By setting up this fund we are stating our confidence in SCCF, as well as the charities we have chosen. We hope others will do the same!”

The Bruns’ will be added to the Baron Von Steuben Society, SCCF’s legacy society. For more information about how to leave a legacy through SCCF contact jdanic@steubenfoundation.org or call 260-665-6656.

Deadline to Initiate Year-End Gifts Through SCCF

To ensure a gift is completed by December 31, 2017, gifts of stock transfers should be initiated by December 20th. Cash or check gifts must be delivered to our office by Friday December 29th by 4:30 PM or postmarked by December 30th.  Credit card gifts must be completed online by December 31st. Thank you for considering a year-end gift to or through the Steuben County Community Foundation!
Sydney Rathburn Named 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar

On December 7 th , 2017, Sydney Rathburn was named the 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar in Steuben County. Sydney is a senior at Prairie Heights High School and will receive a four-year, full tuition scholarship to a non-profit Indiana college or university of her choice, along with a stipend for books and other supplies. She plans to study marketing and finance, but is still undecided on where she will go to school in the coming fall.

Sydney is very involved at Prairie Heights High School from being the Class of 2018 Vice President, the President of Student Council, and a member of National Honor Society. This does don’t include her volunteer work and involvement in Prairie Heights Volleyball and LaGrange County 4-H. If you wish to read more about Sydney and her story, you can read a full press release here
The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship is one of 50 scholarships available through the Steuben County Community Foundation. Application materials for other 2018 community foundation scholarships are available on the foundation’s website: steubenfoundation.org . The deadline to apply is quickly approaching on January 31, 2018
Syndey Rathurn with her Family

Pictured (Left to Right): Rhonda Rathburn, Syndey Rathburn, Randy Rathburn, and Olivia Rathburn
The Steuben County Community Foundation Staff with Sydney.

Pictured (Left to Right): Megan Boston, Jacqui Gentile, Sydney Rathburn, Jennifer Danic, and Sandy Ferrell.
The 2017 Annual Report is Now Available!

Jim Burns, Chair
Randy White, Vice Chair
Julie Troyer, Secretary
Doug Bomba, Treasurer
Kathy Armstrong
Dave Goodwin
Sherry Holiday
Jim Ingledue
Phil Meyer
Adam Miller
Chris Snyder
Kevin Stoy
Jaime Walker
Jan Williams

President & CEO

Office Manager 

Program Officer

Youth Philanthropy Coordinator 

SCCF Intern

 The Steuben County Community Foundation has a Notary Public on staff.
Contact  Sandy Ferrell  for details
2017 Endowment Booklet
 Click Here to see a copy of the Endowment Funds administered by SCCF. Updated October 2017

The Steuben County Community Foundation is confirmed in compliance with the  National Standards for US Community Foundations. 
Steuben County Community Foundation | 1701 N Wayne St Angola, IN 46703 | 260-665-6656 | steubenfoundation.org