The Eye-Mail® Monthly is sponsored by:
December Eye-Mail® Monthly
2021 Lectures and Workshops Submission Window Opens January 2!
The Lectures and Workshops Committee invites you to participate in the educational program at Academy 2021 Boston by submitting course proposals for consideration.

Up to four (4) of the following course proposals can be submitted provided that at least one (1) of the proposals is from a workshop or ACE course. 
  • Lecture (traditional)
  • Rapid Fire Lecture
  • ACE Course (Academy Classroom Exchange)
  • Workshop

Please note that the limit of four proposals includes those in which you are a co-author. Additional submissions after the first four will not be considered.

A Grand Rounds presentation is a great opportunity to gain speaking experience for first time Academy presenters. In addition to the four (4) courses listed above, you may also submit up to three (3) cases for the Grand Rounds sessions. Non-credit course submissions are exempt from the four course submission maximum.

The submission window will be open from January 2 to February 1, 2021 at 5 PM ET.
The American Academy of Optometry is pleased to offer the Best of Academy 2020 At Home to help ODs fulfill their annual CE requirements.

By special mandate, Florida ODs can meet their CE requirements through live in-person OR virtual live interactive online formats between December 1, 2020 and February 28, 2021.

This program will provide 22 hours of continuing education credits* and will run January 8-10, 2021. Download the education schedule now.

Reserve your spot by December 15 to ensure you receive the early-bird rate:
  • Academy Members: $149
  • Non-Members: $199

*It is important to note that in order to receive the credit hours, it is required that you "attend" and view sessions live when they are aired at the appointed time. Any lectures viewed following the air time and on-demand are no longer eligible for CE credit.
Optometry365 is the ultimate resource supporting the optometric profession by sharing pertinent industry knowledge, launching innovative products, building strong corporate relationships, and helping to cultivate today’s and tomorrow’s optometrists. Explore the latest sessions and offerings on Optometry365 now at
View and download the post Academy 2020 At Home Newsletter. This newsletter features highlights from the education program and virtual exhibit hall as well as the new Diplomates and Fellows, new AAO and AAOF Board Members, and more. Read now...
American Academy of Optometry Foundation News
2020 William C. Ezell Fellowship Is Now Open
The submission window for the AAOF William C Ezell Fellowship closes February 1, 2021. These fellowships encourage talented persons to pursue full-time careers in optometric research and education in a school or college of optometry. These fellowships provide support to graduate students enrolled in a full-time program of study and training in vision-related research that leads to a Master's or PhD degree. Read more...
2019 Beta Sigma Kappa (BSK) Fellowship Recipient Research Follow Up

Dr. Sima T. Mozdbar, with her research project, “Cognitive Dysfunction and the 25-Item National Eye Institute Visual Function Questionnaire,” was the 2019 BSK Fellowship award recipient. She conducted her research at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. This fellowship's funding is designed to support individuals early in their career whose academic curiosity leads them to seek answers to a vast variety of professionally based questions covering a wide area of vision science, clinical practice, or eye-related public health. For an update on Dr. Mozdbar's research findings, read more...
The feature article in the November 2020 article of OVS is titled "Vision Screening Among Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder" by Mark Swanson et al.
Congratulations to The Ohio State University College of Optometry Epsilon Psi Epsilon Faculty Award Winners, Drs. Nick Fogt and Aaron Zimmerman.

Dr. Fogt was awarded the Herbert G. Mote Award, which is presented to the faculty member who has contributed most to the progression of professional and ethical optometry through his/her teaching at the College of Optometry.

Dr. Zimmerman was awarded the Michael Polasky Award, which is given to a respected faculty member who has excelled in the instruction of clinical procedures at the College of Optometry.