March 23, 2017 

Media Contact:

Lisa Doerner



Digital Rochester Announces Nominees for 2017 Technology Woman of the Year Award
14 women eligible to receive award that recognizes and celebrates achievements in high technology fields
Rochester, NY - Digital Rochester announces 14 nominees for its 2017 Technology Woman of the Year Award. This award is designed to recognize, celebrate, and make visible the achievements of women in high technology fields. Through this award, women who work in these professions are encouraged to stay in the Greater Rochester area, mentor young women, and contribute to the economic growth of the region.

  • Emily A. Carpenter, Web Whiz, Whiz Bang! Web Solutions LLC
  • Tanasee Conner, Assistant Director of Technology Support Services Library, Information, and Technology Services, The College at Brockport
  • Lisa Courtney-Holmes, Digital Designer, webSURGE, LLC
  • Betsy Dell, Associate Professor; Mechanical Engineering Technology and Faculty Associate to the Provost for Women Faculty, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Susie Hume, Manager of Digital Strategy & Insights, Excellus BlueCross BlueShield
  • Laurie Jacobson, Manager of HR Technology, Paychex Inc.
  • Amy Kauffman, Founder & CEO, Givily
  • Susan G. Kavanagh, RP, CeDP, CLSP, Senior Advisor, iControl ESI
  • Judy Miller, CEO, Miller & Associates Sourcing Specialists, LLC
  • Lisa Moretto, President, RGI International, Inc.
  • Julie Myers, Interim Deputy CIO & Director Enterprise Applications, University of Rochester
  • Nancy Neumann, Vice President Interaction Design, ITX Corp
  • Garland J. Nichols, Vice President of Information Security, Xerox Corp.
  • Taylor Whitney, President and Founder, Preserving The Past, LLC

"It is a privilege for Digital Rochester to honor this year's nominees for their leadership and accomplishments in the tech industry," said Lisa Doerner, Executive Director of Digital Rochester. "Their experience and expertise is varied, but, all have impacted their profession, helped to advance women in technology fields, and still found time to contribute to their community."

Evaluation and judging criteria for the award are based on sustained contributions to the technology profession, contributions advancing the status, opportunities, and employment for women in the technology professions, and contributions to the community.

A breakfast awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, April 26 at 7:30 a.m. at Casa Larga Vineyards. The ceremony will feature keynote speaker, Dr. Deana L. Porterfield, President of Roberts Wesleyan College, and her address about becoming a person of influence. Tickets are $45 for DR members and $50 for non-members. 



About Digital Rochester: 

Digital Rochester was founded in 2000 and is made up of professionals and companies working together to strengthen the Greater Rochester Area's technology business community. DR events and community services include a wide array of educational and networking activities designed to support the growth and success of the Rochester business community. 


In 2010, the organization grew with the inclusion of the Association for Women in Computing (AWC) and eBusiness Association (eBA). In 2012, DR entered into a strategic alliance with Greater Rochester Enterprise (GRE). This alliance enhances DR's ability to support the Greater Rochester Region's business community.

  Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our profile on LinkedIn View our videos on YouTube