December 13, 2018   
District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer Proposes New Short Term Rental Legislation
District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer
NEW ORLEANS - Today, Councilmember Palmer released details of a motion to tighten regulations to the City's Short Term Rental (STR) program. The proposed legislation will continue to allow property owners with a homestead exemption to receive an STR permit called a residential license. Whole home rentals are no longer allowed unless located within a commercially zoned district. The STR ban in the French Quarter will remain in place but has been extended to the Garden District.
Residential License Requirements:
- Homestead Exemption
- Owner must be on property during duration of STR rental
- 3 license limit per property
The only other type of STR license permitted by the City Planning Commission is property zoned for commercial or mixed-use purposes. Councilmember Palmer is proposing three categories for commercial licenses: single unit, small scale and large scale. Large and small scale commercial licenses are required to have security cameras and ample lighting for enhanced safety of renters.
Commercial Single Unit:
- Homestead Exemption
- 1 license per unit
Commercial Small Scale: (commercially zoned property with fewer than 5 residential units)
- Must reserve first floor for commercial use
- 1 license per residential unit
Commercial Large Scale: (commercially zoned property with 5 or more residential units)
- Must reserve first floor for commercial use
- 1 license per residential unit
- STRs cannot exceed 30% of residential units.
- Each STR unit must be matched with an affordable housing unit.
Councilmember Palmer is available from 2:30 PM to 4 PM to answer additional questions about her proposed motion. Please contact Tiffaney Bradley to schedule an interview.
Public feedback can be submitted to .

Media Contact:
Tiffaney Bradley
Communications Director
Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer, District "C"
(504) 295-4970
New Orleans City Council
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website .

The City Council is comprised of five districts and two Councilmembers-at-large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Jason R. Williams; Council Vice President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso; District "B" Councilmember Jay H. Banks; District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer; District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett; and District "E" Councilmember Cyndi Nguyen.