From the Principal's Office
This has been a great first week here at Dowell. Students and teachers are getting to know each other and meeting new friends too. Everyone is settling into a routine and getting down to school business. The admin team had the privilege of meeting with all grade levels this week and welcoming them to the Dowell Way. It was great to see so many parents at our athletic and fine arts meetings this week to learn how to help their child to be successful this year. Many clubs are setting up their first meetings, so remind your child to be listening to announcements to know when and where they will be held. I hope that all of you are able to catch up on some rest and family time this weekend. I took my middle son, Carson, to college three weeks ago and he is coming home this weekend for a quick visit and to see his sister, Kathryn, cheer at her first varsity football game. So it will be a great weekend for family time.
 
Have a great weekend!
 
Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School

What's Happening at Dowell
Monday, 8/29
- 7th/8th Volleyball Parent Night from 6:00 - 7:30 pm in the Dowell Gyms.
 
Tuesday, 8/30
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Try-O uts in E100 from 4:00 - 7:00 pm.
- Before school STUCO meeting in G217.
 
Wednesday, 8/31
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Try-Outs in E100 from 4:00 - 7:00 pm.
 
Thursday, 9/1
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Try-Outs in E100 from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- After school meetings for STUCO (G217) and National Junior Honor Society.
- 7th/8th Grade Volleyball Preview at PSA in McKinney.
- Orchestra Parent Meeting in Cafeteria from 6:30 - 8:00 pm.
 
Monday, 9/5
- Before and after school Youth in Government practice.
 
Tuesday, 9/6
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- Before school STUCO meeting in G217.
 
Wednesday, 9/7
- 7th Grade Dowell Football Preview at McKinney Boyd Football Field at 5:30 pm.
- 8th Grade Dowell Football Preview at Ron Poe Stadium at 5:30 pm.
 
Thursday, 9/8
- PTO Meeting in the DMS Teacher's Lounge at 9:00 am.
- After school STUCO meeting in G217.
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- 7th/8th Grade Dowell Volleyball vs. Highland Park @ HP from 5:00 - 9:30 pm.
 
Friday, 9/9
- Dowell Picture Day
 
Saturday, 9/10
- 7th/8th Volleyball A Team Tournament "Collin County Spikefest" all day.
- Dowell Cross Country @ McKinney Boyd Inv. at Myers Park from 8:00 - noon.
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on the DMS Stage from 9:00 - noon.


For a complete list of Dowell clubs and organizations, check out the Dowell PTO website at dowellpto.com .
Picture Day is Coming!
Your student will bring home an order form.
Dowell's Got Talent Auditions - 9/15 and 9/16!
Any Student is Encouraged to Try Out!
  • Prizes for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and People's Choice Award!
  • See Mr. Wells in E100 for an application.
  • Dowell's Got Talent will be on Friday, Sept. 30th.
  • Admission is one can of fruit to benefit McKinney Food Pantry
From the Nurses Office

Breakfast is often described as the most important meal of the day, and rightfully so -- it not only provides important daily nutrients such as protein, fiber, calcium and carbohydrates, but it also helps improve school performance. If your child feels tired or has difficulty concentrating during the day, consider adding breakfast to his or her routine.
 
While eating any breakfast is better than skipping breakfast altogether, some choices are better than others. Carbohydrate-only breakfasts (such as bagels or toast) can give energy for 1-2 hours but eating a complete breakfast that contains a balance of protein, fat and carbs, can keep blood sugar levels steady for hours. More complete breakfasts are easy to make - try toast with peanut butter and a piece of fruit or cereal with milk and a glass of 100% fruit juice. 
Support Your Dowell PTO!
- All Dowell parents are invited to attend the Dowell PTO meetings on the 2nd Thursday of every month at 9 am in the Dowell Teacher's Lounge. The next meeting will be 9/8. 
 
- Be sure to check out our new website - www.dowellpto.com.  On the website you can join the PTO, sign up to volunteer, purchase spirit wear and more! 

- Facebook users, please like our new Facebook page for great PTO information and more, https://www.facebook.com/groups/dowellpto/

Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700

Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, koberlender@mckinneyisd.net
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, manderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office Manager -  Christy Howley 469-302-6704, chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
kjgreen@mckinneyisd.net
Durham Bus Services - 972-542-8316
Boys Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles 469-302-6728
Girls Athletic Coordinator - Monica Taylor 469-302-6724
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: