From the Principal's Office
Dowell Families - 
Stay warm and have a great weekend!

Sincerely,
Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School 
Visit our Dowell  Website Today!
Dowell Staff and Students - Holiday Hat Day
What's Happening at Dowell
Friday, 12/9
- Band Wind Ensemble All-Region Clinic/Concert at Rockwall Heath HS after school.
- North Texas Middle School Basketball A Team Tournament starting at 5:00 pm.
7th Grade Boys @ Frisco Pearson MS
7th Grade Girls @ Allen Ereckson MS 
8th Grade Boys @ Dowell MS
8th Grade Girls @ Frisco Stafford MS
- Youth and Government Mandatory Parent Meeting at 6:00 pm in the Library.
- Dowell Chamber Choir Performs with McKinney Boyd at Boyd at 7:00 pm.
Saturday, 12/10
- North Texas Middle School Basketball A Team Tournament all day.
7th Grade Boys @ Frisco Pearson MS
7th Grade Girls @ Allen Ereckson MS 
8th Grade Boys @ Dowell MS
8th Grade Girls @ Frisco Stafford MS
- Band Wind Ensemble All-Region Clinic/Concert at Rockwall Heath HS all day .
Monday, 12/12
- Youth and Government before and after school in G129.
- Dowell Soccer vs. Parents and Teachers after school at Dowell.
- 7th/8th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Highland Park @ Dowell starting at 5:00 pm.
- 7th/8th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Highland Park @ Highland Park starting at 5:00 pm.
- Choir Holiday Concert at McKinney Boyd HS at 6:30 pm.
Tuesday, 12/13
- STUCO Meeting before school in F Hall commons area.
- 7th/8th Band Winter Concert at McKinney Boyd Auditorium starting at 6:00 pm.
Wednesday, 12/14
- Mooyah Spirit Night when you mention Dowell (380 and Custer) from 3:00 - 9:00 pm. 
- Orchestra Winter Concert at McKinney Boyd Auditorium starting at 7:00 pm.
Thursday, 12/15
- Choir 6th Grade Nursing Home Tour during the school day.
- STUCO Meeting after school in F Hall commons area.
Friday, 12/16
- PTO Spirit Wear for sale before school  in the main hallway.

Winter Break
Dowell Campus will be closed Monday, December 19 - Tuesday, January 3
 
Monday, 1/2 
- Staff Development, no school and office closed.
Wednesday, 1/4
- 7th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Dowell  starting at 5:00 pm.
- 7th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Johnson  starting at 5:00 pm.
Thursday, 1/5
- NJHS Meeting after school in the Learning Commons.
- 8th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Dowell  starting at 5:00 pm.
- 8th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Johnson  starting at 5:00 pm.
Friday, 1/6
- Dowell Drama UIL One Act Play Rehearsal from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
Saturday, 1/7
- Grades are visible in HAC (Home Access Center).

*Dates and times may change. Please check the calendar below for most recent events. 
Youth and Government Mandatory Parent Meeting
Friday, December 9th
in the Dowell Library starting at  6:00 pm

We will be discussing information about upcoming state competition including room list, fees and expectations.
PTO Spirit Wear will be available for sale
Friday, December 16th
before school in the main hallway.
From the Nurse's Office

We all have demands on our time-school, family, errands-not to mention finding time to relax. To fit everything in, we often sacrifice sleep. Lack of sleep affects both mental and physical health. When you're tired, you can't function at your best. Sleep helps you think more clearly, have quicker reflexes and focus better. Research also shows that lack of sleep increases the risk for obesity, heart disease and infections.
 
Although personal needs vary, on average, adults need 7 - 8 hours of sleep while teenagers and young children need at least 9 - 10 hours of sleep each night. To make each day a safe, productive one, take steps to make sure you regularly get a good night's sleep.  

Counselor's Corner

Bullying Presentation 
Next week the counselors will visit with each grade level to recap on Mr. Roberts presentation about utilizing necessary resources to take action and help stop bullying. Dowell strongly believes that our school is a safe and nurturing environment for all. One of our goals is to create a caring community where everyone feels safe and has a sense of belonging. Middle school students have more freedom and independence but with more freedom comes greater responsibility. Please reiterate to your students that they are responsible for their actions and for the choices that they make.
Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700
Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, 
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, maranderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office ManagerChristy Howley 469-302-6704,   chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
Durham Bus Services  - 972-542-8316
Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles  469-302-6728 
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: