From the Principal's Office
Dear Dowell Families - 
 
We have made it through our first semester! I am so proud of the work that students and teachers have accomplished. Lots of growth and lots of celebrations with academics, athletics, clubs and fine arts. What a lucky principal I am to lead this awesome school. I want to thank you for all of your support throughout the last semester. All the early morning rehearsals and practices and tutoring, we could not do what we do every day without the support of you, the parents. Thank you for trusting us with your child and for sharing them with us every day! I wish you all a happy and healthy holiday and look forward to seeing everyone in 2017.  
 
Happy Holidays!
 
Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School 

Visit our Dowell Website Today!

- Staff Directory/Teacher Websites
- Course information
- School Calendar
- Athletic/Fine Arts Schedules
- Bus Routes
- Digital Library
- Clubs
- And More!

Our students and community opened their hearts to donate to Toys for Tots. Hundreds of toys were collected with the class below donating the largest number of toys. Way to go Lions!
What's Happening at Dowell
Winter Break
Dowell Campus will be closed Monday, December 19th - Monday, January 2nd. Classes resume on Tuesday, January 3rd.

Monday, 1/2 
- Staff Development, no school and office closed.
Wednesday, 1/4
- 7th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Dowell  starting at 5:00 pm.
- 7th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Johnson  starting at 5:00 pm.
Thursday, 1/5
- NJHS Meeting in the Learning Commons from 3:45 - 4:45 pm.
- 8th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Dowell  starting at 5:00 pm.
- 8th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Johnson @ Johnson  starting at 5:00 pm.
Friday, 1/6
- Dowell Drama UIL One Act Play Rehearsal from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
Saturday, 1/7
- Grades are visible in HAC (Home Access Center).
Monday, 1/9
- Youth and Government before and after school in G129.
- 7th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Evans @ Evans starting at 5:00 pm.
- 7th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Evans @ Dowell starting at 5:00 pm.
Tuesday, 1/10
- NJHS make-up meeting before school in F103 if you missed meeting on Thursday, 1/5.
- STUCO meeting at 8:15 am in F Hall Commons area.
- Dowell Drama UIL One Act Play Rehearsal from 4:00 - 6:00 pm on the stage.
Thursday, 1/12
- PTO Meeting in the Teacher's Lounge at 9:00 am.
- STUCO meeting in F Hall Commons area from 3:45 - 4:30 pm.
- 8th Boys Basketball Dowell vs. Evans @ Evans starting at 5:00 pm.
- 8th Girls Basketball Dowell vs. Evans @ Dowell starting at 5:00 pm.
Friday, 1/13
- Dowell Band 8th Grade Pops Concert with MBHS at McKinney Boyd at 7:00 pm.
- Academic UIL Meet at Dowell beginning at 5:30 pm.
Saturday, 1/14
- Academic UIL Meet at Dowell all day.

*Dates and times may change. Please check the calendar below for most recent events. 
From the Nurse's Office

This holiday season ease the anxiety with these tips to survive the holidays with food allergies. 


Remind kids about food allergies : Explain to your children that they must continue to be careful about what they eat. Remind kids how to explain their allergies to others and that even one little bite may be harmful.

Remind adults about food allergies:
Send an email, note or call your child's teacher and adult leaders of other activities, reminding them about your kids' allergy considerations. Make yourself accessible and open to questions.

Stay a step ahead of food allergies:
Send safe, fun snacks with your kids to school for holiday parties or field trips. 

Stand tall:
Do not apologize for the allergy or worry about seeming 'over the top.' It is better than winding up in the ER with your child.

Share info, ingredients and your favorite creations:
Offer to share recipe ideas. If you're hosting, keep recipe and ingredients lists nearby as a resource for guests.

Travel safely:
If prescribed, keep epinephrine or other emergency medications on-hand. Carry safe food with you in case you get delayed. 
Counselor's Corner

The Holiday season is a perfect time to reflect on our blessings and seek out ways to make life better for ourselves and those around us. Do not allow yourselves to be stressed over the holidays. Enjoy your time with friends and family and remember the reason for the season. If you find yourself feeling troubled remember to:
 
- Take a step back, inhale and laugh.
- Remember who you are and why you're here.
- You're never given anything in this world that you can't handle.
- Be strong, be flexible, love yourself, and love others. 
- Always remember, just keep moving forward.
1:World Freshman Laptop Information Meetings

Parents, you only need to come to one meeting and can come to any location, regardless of your home campus for 17-18.
Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700
Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, 
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, maranderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office ManagerChristy Howley 469-302-6704,   chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
Durham Bus Services  - 972-542-8316
Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles  469-302-6728 
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: