From the Principal's Office
Dowell Families - 

Have a great week!
 
Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School 
Visit our Dowell  Website Today!
Thanks to our Lions and Lionettes for Another Great Season of Sports!
What's Happening at Dowell
Saturday, 11/12
- Band Wind Ensemble All-Region Auditions Phase 1 at Lovejoy (all day).
- Dowell Cheer Practice for SMU from 8:00 - 12:00 pm in the Dowell gyms.
Monday, 11/14
- Youth and Government before and after school in G129.
- Choir Teacher Voice Recitals in Cafeteria from 4:30 - 8:00 pm.
7th/8th Girls/Boys Basketball Parent Information Night in both Gyms at 6:00 pm.
- Wind Ensemble All-Region Auditions Phase 2 at Willow Springs MS in Lucas (after school).
Tuesday, 11/15
- PTO will have Dowell Spirit Wear for sale during lunches.
- Before school STUCO meeting in F Hall Commons Area.
- Fall Lion Pride Awards in the Learning Commons at 8:15 am.
Wednesday, 11/16
- Bullying Presentation to students during 6th and 7th period in the competition gym.
- PTO will have Dowell Spirit Wear for sale during lunches.
Thursday, 11/17
- 8th Grade students visit all McKinney High Schools for Career and Tech Fair (during school).
- 6th Grade Orchestra travels to Dallas Strings  (during school).
- After school STUCO meeting in F Hall Commons Area.
- Dowell Robotics Kick-Off Event in Cafeteria at 6:00 pm. 
- PTO will have Dowell Spirit Wear for sale during lunches.
Friday, 11/18
- Band Wind Ensemble All-District Band Clinic & Concert (all day) at McKinney Boyd HS.
- Drama will perform in Melissa, and at Finch and Glen Oaks (during school).
- PTO will have Dowell Spirit Wear for sale during lunches.
Saturday, 11/19
Youth in Government Competition at Duncanville High School from 6:30 am - 6:30 pm.

Closed for Thanksgiving from Monday, 11/21 - Friday, 11/25.



*Dates and times may change. Please check the calendar below for most recent events. 


From the Nurse's Office

Being happy may just be the single most important thing you can do for your health, making it just as necessary as diet and physical activity. If you aren't feeling like yourself, not to worry here are a few ways to help you get back to happiness almost instantly - best of all, they are all free!

  • Smile - Not only is it contagious, but smiling also helps relieve stress, boost your mood, and release endorphins.
  • Go for a walk - It doesn't have to be long, but a quick stroll will help you get fresh air and clear your mind.
  • Call a friend - (Dial...don't text).  Calling a close friend is a great way to talk over your worries and get advice from someone you trust.
  • Unplug - Calm your mind by turning off your tech gadgets and escaping social media for a minute or two.
  • Sing (out loud!) in the shower, car, anywhere.
  • Volunteer - Nothing beats the feeling of helping others.
  • Give a compliment - Kick-start a smile with another person and a few genuine words.
Counselor's Corner                        

Bullying Presentation to Students
 
On Wednesday, November 16th,  Daron K. Roberts, the founding director of the  Center for Sports Leadership & Innovation  at the University of Texas, will be doing a Bullying Presentation to our students during 6th and 7th period. He spent seven years as an NFL and college football coach after graduating from  Harvard Law School . Mr. Roberts is a contributor to  Forbes.com , and his articles have appeared in  The Dallas Morning News Fortune Houston Chronicle Texas CEO Magazine  and  Time .   
 
Bullying is a serious problem affecting youth in communities all across America and we all have a role in helping to stop it. Our goal is to successfully communicate the definition of bullying, the many forms it takes and its effects. Students will have a better understanding of bullying and hopefully leave the presentation equipped with tools and resources to take action.  
Make Your Teacher A Star!
The McKinney Education Foundation created an award to help you show your teacher how special he/she is to your student. Give your teacher a STAR (Staff, Teacher Appreciation and Recognition) Award during the holiday season, teacher appreciation week in May, for a birthday or anytime! Families can make a donation of $20 to make their favorite teachers an MEF STAR. Our MEF Trustees will personally deliver the awards to the teacher's classrooms and recognize your favorite teachers in front of their classes! Personal note of recognition is read to the teachers and they love hearing what makes them special to your student/family.

How can you make your teacher a STAR?
 
Complete the form HERE
 
Email, Fax, or Mail the form back to the MEF office with your $20 donation.
We are honored to have been chosen as a drop off campus for the Marines Toys for Tots Annual Toy Drive. From now until December 2nd, we will collect unwrapped toys for all ages. The drop off boxes are scattered around our campus and we hope to show our school spirit with a large amount of donations. Go Lions and thank you for participating in this worthy cause.
Click Below for MISD Technology "Plug-In"
Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700
Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, 
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, maranderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office ManagerChristy Howley 469-302-6704,   chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
Durham Bus Services  - 972-542-8316
Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles  469-302-6728 
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: