From the Principal's Office
Have a great week! 

Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School 

What's Happening at Dowell
Friday, 9/16
- Dowell's Got Talent 2nd Audition from 4:00 - 7:00 pm.
Monday, 9/19
- Before and after school Youth in Government practice. 
- Dowell Cross County @ Prosper ISD Meet
- 8th Dowell Football vs. Cockrill @ McKinney North HS
Tuesday, 9/20
- Before school STUCO meeting in G217.
- 7th Dowell Football vs. Cockrill @ McKinney Boyd HS
Thursday, 9/22
- After school STUCO meeting in G217.
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- 7th/8th Grade Dowell Volleyball vs. Cockrill @ Dowell
Friday, 9/23
- Dowell Band All-Region Boot Camp from 4:00 - 6:30 pm.
Saturday, 9/24
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on the DMS Stage from 9:00 - Noon.
Monday, 9/26
- Before and after school Youth in Government practice. 
- Dowell Cross County @ Johnson Middle School
Tuesday, 9/27
- Before school STUCO meeting in G217.
- 7th Dowell Football vs. Prosper @ McKinney Boyd HS
- 8th Dowell Football vs. Prosper @ Prosper Reynolds
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
Thursday, 9/29
- After school STUCO meeting in G217.
- 7th/8th Grade Dowell Volleyball vs. Prosper Reynolds @ Dowell
Friday, 9/30
- Lion Pep Rally! 6th grade from 2:00 - 2:35 pm. 7th grade from 2:55 - 3:35 pm.
- Dowell's Got Talent from 7:00 - 9:00 pm.

*Dates and times may change. Please check the calendar below for most recent events. 


We value and appreciate all our Dowell volunteers. If you plan to volunteer in any capacity this year, please click below to learn more about becoming a Dowell volunteer. You will need to complete the online volunteer application. It must be completed once a year. When approved, you can volunteer for special events, field trips or on campus activities. We look forward to working with you and thank you in advance for your participation!
 
Yearbook -  Only 1 Day Left!

Order your 2016-2017 Yearbook by Friday, September 16th and CHOOSE personalization and get 4 FREE icons of your choice (a $14 value)!
  • Go to Jostensyearbook.com and type in Dowell Middle School to order online OR
  • Come by the front office and pick up an order form today!
BOOK PRICE: $30.00
PERSONALIZATION: $5.50
ORDER DEADLINE: 09/16/2016

*Yearbook is on sale for the lowest price of the year. Order now!
Last chance to try out on Friday evening, September 16th, from 4:00 - 7:00 pm in E100!
From the Nurses Office

The goal of both parents and school staff is to ensure that the students are safe and well at school. Students who are healthy are able to focus on the job of learning. So what happens when they don't feel well?
 
If a child doesn't feel well during the school day, that student will receive permission from the teacher to visit the school nurse. If the nurse determines a need for the child to go home, the nurse will contact that child's parent.  
 
Unfortunately, some students bypass the nurse, use their cell phones to call and ask their parents to take them home. Some common complaints include headache, stomach ache, and sore throat. There are times that increased fluid intake, rest, crackers or a salt water gargle can help to alleviate these symptoms.
 
If you receive a phone call or text from your child complaining that they do not feel well at school, please encourage them to visit the nurse. Rest assured that you will be contacted if there is a need for your child to go home.

MISD to offer Love and Logic Classes!
McKinney ISD to offer parenting classes based on the Love and Logic program. 

Becoming a Love and Logic Parent 
Sessions:

September 8-29
October 6-27
January 5-26
February 2-23
March 2-30



Click Below for MISD Technology "Plug-In"
Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700

Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, koberlender@mckinneyisd.net
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, maranderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office Manager -  Christy Howley 469-302-6704, chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
kjgreen@mckinneyisd.net
Durham Bus Services - 972-542-8316
Boys Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles 469-302-6728
Girls Athletic Coordinator - Monica Taylor 469-302-6724
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: