From the Principal's Office
It has been another great week at Dowell Middle School. Students and teachers are in the routine of school and working hard. Our volleyball girls got their first time on the court this week and our football boys will play Wednesday at the MISD preview. We have opened up the applications for Student Council and National Junior Honor Society this week so if your child is interested in joining one of these organizations, the applications are in the front office. Please remember to follow our drop off and pick up procedures so that we can keep our Dowell kids safe. I know the line looks long but it does go quickly both in the morning and afternoon. We have already started our Lost and Found, so if your child is missing something have them check the table by the stage. I hope that everyone has a great three day weekend and you are able to enjoy family and friends. College football starts this weekend and that in one of my family's favorite times of year, so that is what is on our agenda.
 
Have a great week!

Sincerely,
Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School 
What's Happening at Dowell

  Monday, 9/5
- Before and after school Youth in Government practice.  
Tuesday, 9/6
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- Before school STUCO meeting in G217.  
Wednesday, 9/7
- 7th Grade Dowell Football Preview at McKinney Boyd Football Field at 5:30 pm.
- 8th Grade Dowell Football Preview at Ron Poe Stadium at 5:30 pm.  
Thursday, 9/8
- PTO Meeting in the DMS Teacher's Lounge at 9:00 am.
- After school STUCO meeting in G217.
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- 7th/8th Grade Dowell Volleyball vs. Highland Park @ HP from 5:00 - 9:30 pm.
Friday, 9/9
- Dowell Picture Day  
Saturday, 9/10
- 7th/8th Volleyball A Team Tournament "Collin County Spikefest" all day.
- Dowell Cross Country @ McKinney Boyd Inv. at Myers Park from 8:00 - noon.
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on the DMS Stage from 9:00 - noon.
Monday, 9/12
- Before and after school Youth in Government practice.  
Tuesday, 9/13
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- Before school STUCO meeting in G217.
- 7th Dowell Football vs. Evans @ Evans (McKinney HS)
- 8th Dowell Football vs. Evans @ Dowell (McKinney Boyd HS)  
Thursday, 9/15
- PTO Meeting in the DMS Teacher's Lounge at 9:00 am.
- After school STUCO meeting in G217.
- Dowell Drama Fall Play Rehearsal on DMS Stage from 4:00 - 6:00 pm.
- 7th/8th Grade Dowell Volleyball vs. Evans @ Dowell  from 5:00 - 9:30 pm.

*Dates and times may change. Please check the calendar below for most recent events. 


Picture Day is this Friday, Sept. 9
Your student should have brought home an order form. More forms are available in the front office.
Tryout Packets HERE or in Front Office
Tryouts are Wednesday, 9/14 and Friday, 9/16
MISD to offer Love and Logic Classes!
McKinney ISD to offer parenting classes based on the Love and Logic program. 

Becoming a Love and Logic Parent 
Sessions:

September 8-29
October 6-27
January 5-26
February 2-23
March 2-30



National Junior Honor Society

NJHS applications are now available. NJHS is open to all 7th and 8th grade students who maintained at least a 90% average in the Spring 2016 semester. Please see the Dowell website or have your student stop by the front office for a form packet. All applications and documents are due by 4 pm, Friday September 16. No late applications will be accepted. If you have any questions, contact Jill Bowman:

Robotics Club Sign-Up

It's that time of year again, welcome back to all our returning Robotics Club Roboteers! We are now accepting applications for new and renewal memberships. If you are interested in joining the After School Robotics Club, please ask your parents to visit our webpage at:

  We meet once a week after school and we participate in four competitions throughout the school year. We would love to have you join us.
It's a Yearbook FLASH SALE!

Order your 2016-2017 Yearbook by September 16th and CHOOSE personalization and get 4 FREE icons of your choice (a $14 value)!
 
3 Ways to Order:
  • Go to Jostensyearbook.com and type in Dowell Middle School to order online,
  • Print the form below and turn in to front office OR
  • Come by the front office and pick up an order form today!
BOOK PRICE: $30.00
ORDER DEADLINE: 09/16/2016


*Yearbook is on sale for the lowest price of the year. Order now to save $5.00.
From the Nurses Office

Taking a walk a day is kind of like that proverbial apple: There's a good chance it'll keep the doctor away. From helping you lose weight and de-stress to lowering your blood pressure and reducing your risk of many chronic diseases-going for regular walks is one of the best and easiest things you can do for your health. There is no fancy equipment needed, just a pair of tennis shoes.  Walking also has tremendous mental and physical benefits. Here's what you can expect when you start walking for just 30 minutes a day, most days of the week:
  • Your mood will improve
  • Your creative juices will start flowing.
  • Your jeans will get a little looser.
  • You'll slash your risk of chronic disease.
  • You'll keep your legs looking great.
  • You'll start to get more "regular."
  • Your other goals will start to seem more reachable.
When you establish a regular walking routine you are more likely to continue with the activity and take on new healthy behaviors.
Support Your Dowell PTO!
- All Dowell parents are invited to attend the Dowell PTO meetings on the 2nd Thursday of every month at 9:00 am in the Dowell Teacher's Lounge. The next meeting will be this Thursday, 9/8. 
 
- Be sure to check out our new website - www.dowellpto.com.  On the website you can join the PTO, sign up to volunteer, purchase spirit wear and more! 

- Facebook users, please like our new Facebook page for great PTO information and more, https://www.facebook.com/groups/dowellpto/

- There will be a school wide talent show on September 30 from 7:00 - 9:00 pm. We need your help! Please click below and sign up to help!
Click Below for MISD Technology "Plug-In"
Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700

Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, koberlender@mckinneyisd.net
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, manderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office Manager -  Christy Howley 469-302-6704, chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
kjgreen@mckinneyisd.net
Durham Bus Services - 972-542-8316
Boys Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles 469-302-6728
Girls Athletic Coordinator - Monica Taylor 469-302-6724
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: