From the Principal's Office
Dowell Families - 

Can you believe that it is already time for Thanksgiving break? This semester has flown by and will go ever so quickly when we return after Thanksgiving break.  I want to take this time to give thanks to all of our families for sharing your child with us every day here at Dowell.  It is a privilege to get to be part of your child's life and help them grow along side with you.  I am very thankful for the support that you give to us.  I am also thankful to be the principal of this school and lead the most amazing staff every day.  I hope that each of you will enjoy time with family and friends next week and get a little rest.  
 
Happy Thanksgiving!
 
Holly Rogers
Principal, Dowell Middle School 

Visit our Dowell  Website Today!
What's Happening at Dowell
Saturday, 11/19
- Youth and Government Competition at Duncanville High School all day.
Campus is closed for Thanksgiving from Monday, 11/21 - Friday, 11/25.
Monday, 11/21
Boy's Basketball Open Gym from 9:00 - 10:30 am (optional).
Monday, 11/28
- Youth and Government before and after school in G129
- 7th Grade Girls MISD Basketball Preview at McKinney Boyd HS starting at 5:00 pm.
- 7th Grade Boys MISD Basketball Preview at McKinney North HS starting at 5:00 pm.
Tuesday, 11/29
- STUCO Meeting before school in F Hall commons area.
- Advanced Drama students visit and perform at elementary schools (during school day). 
Wednesday, 11/30
- 8th Grade Girls MISD Basketball Preview at McKinney HS starting at 5:00 pm.
- 8th Grade Boys MISD Basketball Preview at McKinney Boyd HS starting at 5:00 pm.
Thursday, 12/1
- National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) meeting in Learning Commons after school.
- STUCO Meeting after school in F Hall commons area.
Saturday, 12/3
Boys and Girls Basketball B/C Team Invitational Tournament
7th Grade Boys @ Evans MS
7th Grade Girls @ Cockrill MS 
8th Grade Boys @ Scott Johnson MS
8th Grade Girls @ Faubion MS

*Dates and times may change. Please check the calendar below for most recent events. 
______________________________________________________________________________

Have a very happy Thanksgiving. We give thanks for you, our Dowell family!

From the Nurse's Office

It's that time of year when extra calories lurk around every corner -- frosted cookies, eggnog, pies, and stuffing. All these extras add up. The average American gains 1 - 5 pounds over the holidays. So what's the harm in a little holiday weight gain, especially if it's just a pound? According to the National Institutes of Health, most Americans never lose the weight they gain during the winter holidays. But it is possible to enjoy holiday goodies without putting on a single pound. Here are some tips to help you maintain your weight instead of gaining:
  • Portion control: eat what you like - even indulgences - but stick to smaller portions to avoid weight gain.
  • Be choosy about sweets: choose only what you really want.
  • Limit tasting while cooking.
  • Bring your own treats to parties.
  • Walk it off: Make a new tradition - the family walk after meals.
  • Don't let all celebrations focus only on the food instead play a game, watch a movie, have a sing-a-long.
We are honored to have been chosen as a drop off campus for the Marines Toys for Tots Annual Toy Drive. From now until December 2nd, we will collect unwrapped toys for all ages. The drop off boxes are scattered around our campus and we hope to show our school spirit with a large amount of donations. Go Lions and thank you for participating in this worthy cause.
Click Below for MISD Technology "Plug-In"
Contact Us

Dowell Main Number 
469-302-6700
Front Office - Pat Gilchrist 469-302-6702,  pgilchrist@mckinneyisd.net
Registrar/Records, - Kim Oberlender 469-302-6709, 
Nurse - Martha Anderson 469-302-6716, maranderson@mckinneyisd.net
Principal - Holly Rogers 469-302-6700, hrogers@mckinneyisd.net
Office ManagerChristy Howley 469-302-6704,   chowley@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name A-L) - Jesse Abel 469-302-6718, jabel@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name A-L) - Jennifer Morse 469-302-6713, jmorse@mckinneyisd.net
AP Secretary (Last name A-L) - Pamela Coats 469-302-6707, pcoats@mckinneyisd.net
Assistant Principal (Last name M-Z) - Aretha Jackson 469-302-6711, arjackson@mckinneyisd.net
Counselor (Last name M-Z), Rayshana Adams 469-302-6801, radams@mckinneyisd.net
Special Education Lead - Lori Wilson 469-302-6754,   lwilson@mckinneyisd.net
Gifted and Talented Services, Karen Green 469-302-7913, 
Durham Bus Services  - 972-542-8316
Athletic Coordinator - Tim Knowles  469-302-6728 
Band - Tiffany Lisko 469-302-6777,   tlisko@mckinneyisd.net
Choir - Rebecca Sigman 469-302-6874,   rsigman@mckinneyisd.net
Drama - Colin Wells 469-302-6750,   cwells@mckinneyisd.net
Orchestra - Beth Lawrence 469-302-6738,   blawrence@mckinneyisd.net

STAY CONNECTED: