E-News
The Episcopal Church in Hawai'i
Where you'll find announcements and links to upcoming events and activities from around the Diocese
January 10, 2019
Diocesan Events & Special Announcements
O'ahu
Kaua'i Happenings
Maui Happenings
Big Island Happenings
The Episcopal Church & Beyond
EPISCOPAL CHURCH AND ELCA JOINT STATEMENT: FOR SUCH A TIME AS THIS: A CALL TO PRAYER, FASTING, AND ADVOCACY
Video message offers thanks
As the 20-month For Such a Time as This: A Call to Prayer, Fasting, and Advocacy campaign concludes, Rebecca Linder Blachly, director of the Episcopal Church Office of Government Relations and the Rev. Amy E. Reumann, Director, Advocacy, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, through a joint video message offer thanks for leaders’ and advocates’ support and a call for continued engagement. To read more and view the video message, click on the image.
PREVIOUSLY ANNOUNCED REMINDERS:
YOUNG ADULT SERVICE CORPS
Deadline to apply is January 11!

The (YASC) is accepting applications for their 2019 placements. YASC is a ministry for Episcopalians ages 21-30 who are interested in exploring their faith in new ways by living and serving in communities around the world. For more information and to apply, visit the YASC website  HERE .
EPISCOPAL SERVICE CORPS
Deadline to apply is January 15!
Young adults (21-32 years old) are invited to apply to serve as a member of the 2019-2020 Episcopal Service Corps. Episcopal Service Corps is a nationwide network of locally organized and incorporated programs designed to provide young adults with an opportunity to serve others, promote justice, and live simply in intentional communities focused on providing participants tools and resources to deepen their spiritual awareness and discern vocation. 
   
New this year, ESC has created a short, fun quiz to help potential Corps members jumpstart the process of discerning which of the more than 20 ESC programs are the best fit for them. The discernment quiz is  HERE For more information and to apply, visit the ESC website  HERE , or contact Wendy Johnson .
UNITED THANK OFFERING APPLICATIONS BEING ACCEPTED
UTO Logo
Applications are now being accepted for the 2019 United Thank Offering grants.  The focus for the 2019 United Thank Offering grants is "Go: Crossing boundaries created by race, culture, and economics to create communities that listen deeply and learn to live like Jesus." More information and application is available  HERE .

Known worldwide as UTO, the United Thank Offering grants are awarded for projects that address a new focus area each year, both domestically and internationally in the Episcopal Church and the Anglican Communion. The United Thank Offering was founded to support innovative mission and ministry in the Episcopal Church and to promote thankfulness and mission in the whole Church. 100% of thank offerings given to UTO are granted the following year.

The deadline is March 1, 2019, at 5:00 PM Eastern, 4:00 PM Central, 3:00 PM Mountain, 2:00 PM Pacific, 1:00 PM Alaska, 12:00 PM Hawai'i.   READ MORE

Stay Informed! Quick Links to the Diocesan Website:
Contact Information
Sybil Nishioka, Editor & Communications Contractor
The Episcopal Diocese of Hawai'i
229 Queen Emma Square, Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 636-7776
sta stained glass