ECOEA...the link between your local
and the Ohio Education Association

Professional development, conferences, and scholarships are open to all members.
The East Central OEA district serves OEA members in Carroll, Columbiana, Holmes, Stark, Tuscarawas, and Wayne counties.

  • October 23, 2020 Registration deadline for ECOEA Fall Roundtable; A Legal Update
  • October 26, 2020 ECOEA Fall Roundtable; A Legal Update
  • October 28, 2020 O.N.E. Social, Jackson High School parking lot
  • November 1, 2020 Deadline to apply for Augusta Unit Scholarship-open to all members!
  • November 7, 2020 ECOEA Delegate Briefing-held virtually for all OEA delegates from the ECOEA District. Elected delegates will receive information in the mail.
  • November 11, 2020 ECOEA Executive Committee meeting
  • December 5, 2020 OEA Fall Representative Assembly-virtual
Election day is Tuesday, November 3rd

For a list of OEA endorsed candidates, members can get their sample ballot by visiting

For information on voting, members can visit
by ECOEA Vice President and OEA Blogger, Julie Holderbaum, Minerva Local Education Association
Read about Julie's personal experience about helping students to become voters on the OEA blog site Voices of Change. Now more than ever, we need to prepare our young adults to become comfortable with voting.
ECOEA FALL ROUNDTABLE; A LEGAL UPDATE held virtually by Zoom with Attorney Kathleen McKinley on Monday, October 26 beginning at 7:00 PM. Attorney McKinley, a former teacher and association president herself, will present a legal update to give you the most current information about court cases and legislation that affect you and your job. You can submit questions when you register so she can prepare, or during the event in the Zoom chat.
You must register by Friday, October 23 in order to receive the Zoom link that will be sent out the day before the event. A professional development certificate for 1.5 hours will be sent after you attend. There's door prizes too! Don't miss this opportunity to hear the most current information!
ECOEA DAVID AUGUSTA UNIT SCHOLARSHIPS-One $500 scholarship to a member is provided for each of the three voting units in ECOEA. The scholarships are awarded by lottery drawing and given by reimbursement upon documentation of expense for continuing education in the member's current field of work. The scholarships can be used for tuition, conference registration or workshop fees and must be used by August 31, 2021. It cannot be used for travel, parking, food, books, license renewal, or other extraneous expenses. Deadline to apply using our easy on-line application is November 1.
Each year, ECOEA recognizes those local associations who have met at least 5 or 6 criteria of the Five Star Local Award during the 2019-2020 program year. Applying for an ECOEA scholarship or grant, attending an ECOEA training, electing and sending delegates to the ECOEA Rep Assembly, having 5% or more participation in FCPE, having a member serve as a representative of ECOEA on an OEA Committee or on the ECOEA Executive Committee are among the criteria. All locals receiving the Five Star designation are entered into a drawing for a $500 unrestricted grant to their local.
We are happy to announce this year's Five Star Locals:
Meeting 5/6 criteria:
¡        Canton Professional Educators’ Association-President Paul Palomba
¡        Malvern Education Association-President Tami Warner
¡        Rittman Education Association-President Ed Sims
Meeting 6/6 criteria:
¡        Alliance Education Association-President Christine Heutsche
¡        East Holmes Teachers’ Association-President Megan Mullet
¡        Minerva Local Education Association-President Stuart Grunder
¡        North Canton Education Association-President Julie Nelson
¡        Newcomerstown Teachers’ Association-President Steven Pritchard
¡        Perry Classroom Teachers’ Association-President Anthony Ridenour
¡        Plain Local Teachers’ Association-President David Frederick
¡        Wooster Education Association-President Scott Miller
Congratulations to these locals for their exceptional participation in ECOEA!
ECOEA Public Relations Grant winners announced:
Five local associations applied for and were approved for their plans to enhance the public perception of their local within their community through first-time plans. Public Relations Grants of $500 are awarded to the following locals:
¡        Minerva Local Education Association-$500- Supporting Those that Help our Students; submitted by MLEA President Stuart Grunder
¡        Rittman Education Association-$500-Showing Rittman REA Cares; submitted by REA President Ed Sims
¡        Claymont Education Association -$500-Mustang Pride; submitted by member Kimberly Watkins, President Holly Lloyd
¡        East Holmes Teachers’ Association-$500-Read Under the Lights; submitted by EHTA President Megan Mullet
¡        Alliance Education Association-$500-Aviators for Aviators; submitted by AEA member Juliann Doerschuk, President Christine Heutsche
Your O.N.E. ambassadors for the ECOEA area are Kelli Repphun, member of Jackson Memorial Education Association (pictured right) and Levi Kunselman, member of Wellsville Education Association.
These young educators are available to connect Early Career Educators (years 0 through 10) with resources, activities, and support as everyone navigates through the year. O.N.E. looks forward to seeing Early Career Educators at their social on October 28 at Jackson High School! Click the flyer to register!

O.N.E. also offers an on-going professional development series-Beyond the Classroom-that provides virtual professional development and support to our Early Career Educators. More information at this link:
Click here for the informational flyer:
As of this writing, two OEA locals are on strike and would appreciate your support from their union brothers and sisters. Following them on social media and sending postcards of support are two ways you can help! Here is contact information for the locals:
Show of support can be expressed on Twitter (@YSUFaculty) and Facebook (YSU-OEA). Please like, share and comment on their social media posts.
Gahanna-Jefferson Education Association
Expressions of support can be sent to the OEA Westerville office (Gahanna Jefferson Education Association, c/o Ohio Education Association, 5026 Pine Creek Drive, Westerville, OH 43081. They also have a very active Facebook page (
ECOEA Vacancies-
  • ECOEA Unit 1 on the OEA Board of Director-open to any member from ECOEA Voting Unit 1
  • ECOEA Rep to the OEA Convention Planning Committee-open to any member
Please contact the ECOEA office for more information about these vacant positions.

Per ECOEA Policy 3.6 Access to Financial Reports-the monthly Executive Committee financial report is available to any member upon request.
Check us out on Social Media. Like us on Facebook!