Header Image


Contact: EES Foundation

Press Release

2016-2017 EESF/AEESP Student Video Competition

The Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation and the Association of Environmental Engineering & Science Professors are pleased to announce the top three winners of the 2016/2017 EESF/AEESP Student Video Competition.

The winners are:

First Place

The University of South Florida (USF) for Change Climate Change

Team members:

  • Kevin Orner, Team Leader
  • Jorge Calabria
  • Philip Dixon
  • Ryan Graydon
  • Charlotte Haberstroh
  • Emma Lopez
  • Christy Prouty
  • Laura Rodriguez-Gonzalez
  • Dr. James Mihelcic, BCEEM, Faculty Advisor

Second Place

Florida International University for Take Action on Climate Change

Team members:

  • Allyson Tombesi, Team Leader
  • Sarah Solomon
  • Ron Hariprashad
  • Shonali Laha, Faculty Advisor

Third Place

University of Southern California for Small Changes; Big Impact

Team members:

  • Autumn Gupta, Team Leader
  • Cassandra Boyle
  • Bryanna Wallace
  • Kelly Sanders, Faculty Advisor

The winning videos can be viewed online at http://www.eesfoundation.org/student-video-competition.

Teams of undergraduates and graduates studying environmental engineering and science were challenged to create 2-3 minute videos on the topic "what can individuals do to help reduce climate change". The target audience was 8th grade and higher students as well as the general public. Entries were evaluated on their effectiveness in reaching target audiences, creativity, accuracy, and plans for distributing the final video product. Each video also addressed the roles of Environmental Engineers and Scientists in solving climate related problems.

"The students never fail to surprise us with how they respond to the challenge," noted Professor Jim Mihelcic, faculty advisor for the USF team. "They bring a different context and a different style of messaging. You can tell they take the challenge very seriously and are passionate about making a difference for the environment."

"We had an excellent response and look forward to doing this again next year," added Mihelcic.

"The Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation is pleased to provide $1,000 and travel funding to the first place team, $750 to the 2nd place team and $500 to the 3rd place team", stated EESF Chairman Cecil Lue-Hing. "We are pleased to see that these students are so passionate about important environmental issues as they prepare to become part of the future workforce that can make a difference in this area."

The teams have been invited to accept their awards during the 2017 AAEES Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Awards Luncheon and Conference, to be held at the prestigious National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on April 13, 2017.

The Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation (EESF) is a 501(c)3 organization that directs resources to advance environmental engineering and science in the areas of research, education, and practice. The Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) is made up of professors in academic programs throughout the world who provide education in the sciences and technologies of environmental protection.

Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation | http://www.eesfoundation.org | 410.266.3390