2018 Patriot Award winner: Joy Cardin
Joy Cardin, center, with two of her former Appleton East teachers, Judy Winzenz and John Svejda.
Joy Cardin, Class of 1977, is the 2018 Patriot Award winner.

The Patriot Award is given each year to an alumnus/a who, through their achievements, has brought honor to themselves, to their school, and to their community.

Cardin graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. She reported for commercial television stations in Wausau and Green Bay before moving on to Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR). During her radio career, Cardin held positions of talk director, news director, and Ideas Network Director. Her most notable work at WPR, however, was hosting “The Joy Cardin Show” for 14 years. Every weekday from 6 to 9 a.m., she spoke with guests about topics ranging from current social and cultural issues to politics.

Cardin retired from broadcasting last September after 31 years.

Her work did not go unnoticed. She won many awards, including Best Morning Talk Show awarded by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association in 2012; the Eric
Sevareid Award—Award of Merit for Excellence in Talk and Public Affairs from
the Northwest Broadcast News in 2006; Election Coverage from the Milwaukee
Press Club for the “We the People: Debate ’98”; the NAMI Iris Award for outstanding coverage of mental health issues; and WEAC’s School Bell Award for outstanding coverage of public education.

View the complete list of Patriot Award recipients.

Nominate a Patriot.
Join us Thursday, May 3, for a Pasta Party
1971 Boys' Volleyball Team Inducted Into Athletic Hall of Fame
In February, Appleton East inducted the 1971 Boys' Volleyball Team into the Athletic Hall of Fame.

This was the first team at Appleton East High School to win a WIAA state championship. On the road to the championship Appleton East faced two-time defending state champions Kaukauna in the sectional match. Appleton East stunned them with a win and advanced to the state tournament in Whitefish Bay. The tournament was played in a round-robin format. East swept both Whitefish Bay and Sun Prairie in straight games and finished by playing Waukesha. At the conclusion, East’s 7-2 round-robin record earned the Patriots the title of state champions. This is East’s one and only boys' volleyball state championship. 
Members of the 1971 state championship team include Sean Ehlke, Steve Nissen, Mike Choudoir, Scott Lawson, Dutch Lawson, John Cipriani, Tom Torkelson, Jeff Retson, Jeff Dorow, Paul Kern, John McGregor, and Dave Schiedermayer. The Patriots were coached by longtime teacher Orv Koepke.
Appleton East High School
Alumni Association
in partnership with the
Appleton Education Foundation


122 E. College Avenue, Suite 1-B
Appleton, WI 54911